Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Sony F828 action shots.

I am a freelance journalist writing about and testing motorcycles. I own a Sony F828 I use to take pictures of motorcycles. I know it is not an SLR. Still imaging is great, however I seem to struggle to get the action pictures I need and to compensate I ride the bikes slowly past and try to look fast rather than beeing fast if you see what I mean. I own the camera but can`t justify using a proffessional photographer so thought the F828 would be a perfect point and shoot camera for that purpose(to place it in the hands of a amateur photographer I use). Can you give me any hints on how to improve low light action photoes with the F828? I have the HVL-F32X flash as well.

Here is one example: http://www.bikepics.com/pictures/206938/
    This turned out good: http://www.bikepics.com/pictures/206932/

Additional low light shots

Here`s a couple of low light action shot disasters:
    http://www.bikepics.com/pictures/205588/
    http://www.bikepics.com/pictures/254188/

Talking

You really shouldn't stand out in the middle of the road, you're gonna get run over! hehe

Quote Originally Posted by TDT
    You really shouldn't stand out in the middle of the road, you're gonna get run over! hehe
    I am not the photographer here. I am the rider.

Useful forum

Very useful this forum. No one knows nothing. Just like me. Thanks.

How is your photographer taking the photos? I would recommend half-pressing the shutter button and following you with the camera focused for a little bit before actuallty taking the picture. What ISO setting are you using? Try bumping it up a nother notch, also, increase the EV to get more lighting. It should be in 1/3 increments like my Sony. Is your photographer using a tripod, that would help keep the focus aswell?
    Last edited by TheObiJuan; 12-17-2004 at 05:59 PM.

Also, where is your EXIF data?

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by sagtor