Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    439

    Error on the D50

    Ive had my d50 since middle of June and it has been wonderful to me and still takes excellent pictures. Recently I was taking pictures at one of my friends horse barns and it was shooting pictures like it regularly would. When I was about to take a picture of a cat while approaching a house, I tried to shoot, the camera locked up, the top lcd screen was flashing "Err". It didn't record the picture. I pressed the shutter button again and the shutter didn't open. I turned of the camer to see if that would help, but the top lcd screen was still on and showed everything you can see on it while the camera is on (but the camera is turned of at this point). I messed around with it, until I finally pulled out the battery, and then put it back in. I took another shot, and it did the same thing. I took out the battery and slipped it back in, and it worked perfectly fine, I could take pictures and record them, and turn it off and on without any problem. Ok this was Wednesday, this happened. I charged my battery that night, and when I put the battery in to my camera it worked just fine again, until I took one shot, and it froze up again with the same "Err" flashing. Does anyone know what I am talking about, or anyone know what I can do to fix this problem?? I would really like to know what is wrong with my camera if anything is. Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,929
    This may be a dead end here but try a new battery, also try a different memory card. I think it might be the battery malfunctioning. Ofcourse, I could be wrong
    Jason

    "A coward dies a thousand deaths, a soldier dies but once."-2Pac


    A bunch of Nikon stuff!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    6,931
    I second the battery AND memory card suggestion as the first things to try.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    439
    Thanks guys, I didn't know what to do, and hoped that my brand new camera wasn't dead already. I just looked in the D50 manual, and it describes that "Err" blinking. The problem is that the camera malfunctioned. But if it persists I need to take it to a Nikon-authorized service rep. I should have looked in the book before posting, but thanks for the replys

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    City of Lights, City of Casinos, City of Sin -- Must be Las Vegas!
    Posts
    1,512
    I was getting an "Err" reading when I "locked" the mirror up on my D50 while I was shooting very fast without the multiple exposure option on--two photos were almost identical. Since the manual didn't have squat about the error message, I had no cell signal, and since I was unsure of what to do, I ended up removing the lens, clicked the shutter button, remounted the lens, and then was able to continue shooting photos (I also tried a different battery and card first).

    After getting back into the same town where I purchased the camera and stopping by the camera store, I mentioned what had happened in the field. I was then informed that if I would have used the "mirror lock-up option" (P116 of the D50 Manual), it would have basically fixed the problem I had encountered.

    I don't know if it will help fix your camera or not, but you may want to give it a try. Good luck.
    Canon G10 - Nikon D3 - Sony P&S - Flickr Account - Non-updated Website

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    439
    hey thanks man, I'll have to try that next time it happens. Yeah ive tried pulling out my battery and it works when I do that. So next time I'll use your advice. But if this keeps at it, I will go to a service store and see what the heck is up

  7. #7
    Skunk Hammer Guest

    The mirror lockup error

    I had the same thing happen yesterday right out of the blue. I changed the lens, memory card, flash, and battery - didn't help. I went into the menu and made sure the mirror lock up was turned off. (Now that option is greyed out and can't be selected.) I cleaned the lens contacts. I'm still getting the "err" message and haven't googled up any other ideas on how to fix this. Any suggestions?


    Skunk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    439
    Umm don't know. I did everyting you did and it worked fine for me.
    Nikon D300
    Nikkor AF-S 17-55mm f/2.8
    Nikkor 80-200 f/2.8 AF-D (70-200mm f/2.8 VR soon)
    Nikon SB600 (SB800 soon)
    Nikon MB-D10 grip
    Sekonic L-358
    Bogan/Manfrotto 055xprob tripod

    Canon AE-1 Program
    Canon FD 50mm f/1.8
    CPC 2x Teleconverter
    CPC Phase 2 CCT 80-200 f/4.5
    CPC Phase 2 CCT 28mm Macro f/2.8

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •