Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7

    Pics are noisier with my new A530 than my old Sony 1.3 MP ?? (Link+pics)

    I was very hesitant but I finally pulled the trigger on a A530 and there's many things I like but the pictures are darker and noisier than my old Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-P30, check the pics. Both were resampled at 800x600 with I-View Pro..


    http://iplayloud.tripod.com/index2.html

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7
    Forgot to say the second picture is the Powershot A530, any comments ?
    Last edited by Iplayloud; 10-19-2006 at 07:50 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7
    I'ts been viewed 38 times now, can anyone say something ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    153
    Quote Originally Posted by Iplayloud View Post
    I'ts been viewed 38 times now, can anyone say something ?
    Mate,

    I didn't finish viewing the pics when those bulls**t pop-ups started... I got the hell outta the site.

    Post 'em in here or somewhere else, without the pop-ups, I assume others are as dirty about them as I am.

    TEMPA

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,162
    I dont see what your talking about. IMO the sony looks noisy, the A540 looks better and wider.

    If anything your not viewing it correctly.

    When i take the shots with my camera they are somthing like 2592X1944 wich is way to large to view on my computer. I skew it down to 1024X768, it just pushes the image down to a viewable image where i can view the whole image on my screen wich is 1024X768. I dont lose any quality i can just view it better.

    Maybe your viewing the A540 image at its max size and the sony at its max size also?

    What if you set the sony to take a shot at 640X480, then set the canon at the same resolution?
    Last edited by BowerR64; 10-19-2006 at 04:58 PM.
    My camera gear Found on e-bay.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    4,419
    Yesterday, I did look and try to check EXIF info but there is none. So I can't comment. And the images are too small to make any deduction.
    Nikon D90, D80
    Nikkor 16-85mm AF-S DX F/3.5-5.6G ED VR, Tamron SP AF 28-75mm F/2.8 XR Di LD Aspherical (IF) macro, Nikkor 50mm F/1.4D, Nikkor 50mm F/1.8D, Nikkor AF-S VR 70-300mm F/4.5-5.6G IF-ED, Sigma 105mm F/2.8 EX DG Macro ||| 2x SB800 | SB600 ||| Manfrotto 190XB

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    358
    I think he meant the ceiling portions in the A530 photo. Yea I can see a lotta RGB pixels up there. I guess its the case of too many pixels crammed in and bad lenses.

    I used to have a Sony DSC-P3 2.8mpx with a 35mm fixed (no optical) and at 400ISO, it looks better than my much newer Casio Exilim EX S500.

    But I really dunno what to tell you. I guess its a trade off because everything else sure looks a heck of a lot more detailed in the A530.
    ================================
    Gallery : DeviantArt

    dSLR : SAMSUNG GX-1L
    dP&S : CASIO EXILIM EX-S500
    35mm SLR : PENTAX MZ-M w/ PENTAX FG Battery Grip

    SIGMA 24-135mm f2.8-4.5 Aspherical IF (Pentax AF Mount)
    18-55/3.5-5.6, 35-70/3.5-4.8, 70-210/4-5.6, 80-200/4.5
    28/2.8, 50/2, 135/2.8, 135/3.5, 200/3.5, 300/5.6

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7
    Seems like the Canon pics are dark and sad, here's the Sony DSC-P30 (old 1.3 MP) and Canon A530 at auto with flash:

    http://iplayloud.tripod.com/index3.html

    I like the wide angle but I use my pics for Ebay and the old Sony is out of retirement..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,162
    The sony may take better shots at that resolution but the canon is better. The canon flash seems a little soft but you are not at the same angle and distance with them both. If all your shooting is e-bay stuff the sony should of been fine.

    If you compare them both at e-bay size images the canon looks better i think.



    You need to set them both at the same resolution size. Also shoot the canon in P mode insted of auto.
    Last edited by BowerR64; 10-23-2006 at 10:25 PM.
    My camera gear Found on e-bay.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •