Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Thread: 30d vs 400d

30d vs 400d

hi i know you guys have seen my threads about lenses. but as of late ive seen alot of threads concerning the rebates and the 30d versus the 400d(which i was almost set on getting). well ive reached the point now because of all the threads of now wondering if i should get a 30d instead of the 400d. im not a pro and dont plan to go pro, im just making the step from point and shoot to slr. i guess my concerns are features (fps doesnt matter) and IQ(taking into account the MP differences). and dont get me wrong i do know that alot comes down to experience, lenses, and the shooter. i do plan to try to sell some prints here and there so im not sure if the if the MP would make a difference. and ive played with both.....any suggestions and insights/questions are appreciated as always

plow

as far as features, it looks like they are about the same...so why the debate and why me questioning this?
    Last edited by plow; 10-11-2006 at 04:18 PM.

The 400D is aimed at consumers, the 30D is pitched a step above that, I wish I could have afforded the 30D when I bought my 350. Not that I am unhappy with my camera, far from it
    Canon 350D l EF-S 10-22 l EF-S 17-55 l EF 50 f/1.8 l EF 70-200 2.8 IS l 430EX l

Fornography

www.vicwrx.com.au

Well...

In favor of 30D:

Better build, twice shutter life.
    ISO 3200 and cleaner ISO 1600.
    5 FPS
    Larger Viewfinder
    ISO in 1/3 steps
    ISO in viewfinder (when changing)
    Spot metering
    Battery Life
    2nd LCD screen for settings

In favor of 400D

10 MP.
    Antidust system.
    More compact

IMHO the 400D isn't a choice with the 30D being only 950 for the body after rebates. I'm sure canon is going to introduce the 40D soon with same 10 mp sensor and antidust system but the ISO samples from 400D arn't as good as 30D which is a shame. I'd go with a 30D on oct 15th if in USA.

Tim