Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: K100, Xt, D80?

K100, Xt, D80?

Hi there, I am a graphic designer jumping out in the world of photography. I've been researching for months now for the "perfect" dSLR to meet my needs, and I think I've narrowed my choices down. I'm looking at the low to high entry-level SLRs. The majority of my photographs will be a sort of "lifestyle" photography of children in their homes. Catching those "natural moments" so to speak. I will also have opportunities to shoot at weddings as the "b shooter or creative shooter," taking mainly behind the scene shots.

I realize that a great lens (and of course the person behind the camera) has more to do with the quality of the photograph than the body of the camera. However, with cameras acting as computers these days, it seems that the body plays a pretty important role as well. Since I'm starting from scratch without a collection of lenses it kind of makes my decision more dizzy-ing. With all the choices out there I get hung up on LCD size, dust reduction features, and image stabilization features.

So if anyone is still reading this and wants to read on, here's a list of my main considerations.

Image StabiIization ... I realize that the IS won't help with my moving subjects (kids), but I'm sure it's a nice feature to have around and not have to pay the big bucks for in a lens. Also it could help with lower light wedding situations.

The dust reduction ... How important is this? It's obviously an issue since it seems a pre-req for all the lastest greatest SLRs coming out now. However, is it that BIG of an issue? How do those of you who don't have dust reduction features on your SLRs feel about it? How those of you who now own an SLR with the dust reduction feature. Is it worth it to you?