Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Formerly South Wales. Now South Carolina.
    Posts
    7,147

    Shake reduction?

    How long is the longest lens the recommend for use with shake reduction?

    I heard from somebody that Canon weren't planning it because on lenses of 300mm the distance the sensor would have to be moved is about 1 centimeter.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,175
    Rhys is referring to Canon's explanation inside this White Paper. Scroll down to the part where it discusses in-body IS versus lens IS.

    I'm interested in knowing just how effective this technology is in practice for a variety of focal lengths. While it would be overly optimistic to expect any major advantages with say, a Bigma , how about the average 70-300 f/4-5.6 consumer telephoto lens, an 80-400 type of lens, or even a Sigma 70-200/2.8?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    884
    It is consistantly effective with my F*300mm f4.5... in my estimation it gives me a good 3 stops..

    Thats the longest lens I have though...

    If I get home early enough tonight (still light) I can do some comparisons with SR on and off with the 300 if you like? I could also use the Tamron 1.4x on that to give you 420mm
    Last edited by jeisner; 08-27-2006 at 06:58 PM.
    ------
    Joel - Canon 50d, EF16-35/2.8 Mk1, Σ 50/1.4, EF100/2.8 Macro, EF70-200/4 IS, 430EX II
    http://www.eisner.id.au

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,175
    Quote Originally Posted by jeisner
    I can do some comparisons with SR on and off with the 300 if you like? I could also use the Tamron 1.4x on that to give you 420mm
    Sounds good to me.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    129
    If one uses a 500mm lens at 1/160 time one wil probably se shake blur with radius about 20 pixels or less on 6mp sensor. 10 pixels on 16x24mm 6mp sensor are 20*16/2000=0,16mm long. Even if sensor travels twice as much, that's far from 1cm. Of course Canon wil devaluate sensor shift blur reduction and promote in lens solution.
    Pentax *Ist DS + growing number of equipment
    Canon PowerShot A510
    Earth/Europe/Slovenia

    - Gallery -

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    884
    OK so I put my Tamron 1.4x teleconverter on the F*300/4.5 and took two shots, sorry just boring indoor shot of a pill packet (was dark before I got home).. obviously both handheld and at ISO 800 and f4.5 and 1/125... These are 100% crops of camera generated JPEGs..

    I took a couple of shots and the results were consistant... So it seems even at 420mm in body IS still works...

    SR OFF


    SR ON
    Last edited by jeisner; 08-28-2006 at 03:29 AM.
    ------
    Joel - Canon 50d, EF16-35/2.8 Mk1, Σ 50/1.4, EF100/2.8 Macro, EF70-200/4 IS, 430EX II
    http://www.eisner.id.au

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    884
    P.S. I couldn't feel any movement, pretty good considering the > 1cm sensor movement ;-)

    Sorry couldn't help myself, I love how much stuff marketing departments can just make up
    ------
    Joel - Canon 50d, EF16-35/2.8 Mk1, Σ 50/1.4, EF100/2.8 Macro, EF70-200/4 IS, 430EX II
    http://www.eisner.id.au

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    221
    Quote Originally Posted by jeisner
    P.S. I couldn't feel any movement, pretty good considering the > 1cm sensor movement ;-)

    Sorry couldn't help myself, I love how much stuff marketing departments can just make up
    10mm of sensor movement, I doubt it very much given the size of the APS sensor.

    Check out this url:
    http://www.pentaximaging.com/files/s...20reduction%22
    Illustrated walks on Isle of Wight - www.iwcam.co.uk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    129
    If memory serves me right, you can manually dial in focal lenght for older lenses up to 800mm. Anything loner than that requires tripod or Arnie
    Pentax *Ist DS + growing number of equipment
    Canon PowerShot A510
    Earth/Europe/Slovenia

    - Gallery -

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    884
    Quote Originally Posted by MatH
    If memory serves me right, you can manually dial in focal lenght for older lenses up to 800mm. Anything loner than that requires tripod or Arnie
    LOL, yeah I think I can manage without a stabalised 1000mm lens...
    ------
    Joel - Canon 50d, EF16-35/2.8 Mk1, Σ 50/1.4, EF100/2.8 Macro, EF70-200/4 IS, 430EX II
    http://www.eisner.id.au

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •