Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Recommended top SD card for Lumix FX01?

I have decided on purchasing the Panasonic Lumix FX01, and am looking for advice on what would be the best, top end memory card to purchase for it. I am considering the SanDsk Extreme III 2GB card, but since I am completely new to the Digital Camera world (aka - first time user outside of my old Sony HI8 video cam) I was hoping to get advice from the more knowledgeable users in this field....

I'd get anywhere from a 512 MB card to 2 GB. currently own Corsair cards (512 60x and 2 GB 133x). i've found that pretty much all brands with decent speed ratings work well nowadays, so it's not necessary here to get a name brand like SanDisk, which currently has a higher price premium. The Extreme III is rated for a wide range of temperature usage, however normal ranges for SD card use are more than enough for me. Looks like the Extreme III corresponds to 133x speed. SanDisk does make the Ultra II SD Plus card which converts to a USB adapter -- this seems intriguing to me. The 1 GB is available at Buy.com for $40 after rebate. They will be releasing a 2 GB version in October. Although not sure how reliable the hinge would be on this card.

I've got this page bookmarked:
    http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_a...hp/page_id=152
    filter the memory type for "SecureDigital" on the left.

for example, you can get a Patriot 2 GB 133x for ~$40 now. fast 512 MB cards can sometimes be found for as little as $10.
    Last edited by ryanbrancel; 05-20-2006 at 03:01 PM.

Thanks Ryanbrancel! I am going to try the link you gave me...

I appreciate the advice, I am going to try the link yuo gave me. It's good to know that there is a wide price spread among similar cards......

The USB capable cards had some problems in some cameras. They don't work in certain cases, do a search here for the correct thread.