Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3
    http://support.nikontech.com/app/ans...ail/a_id/13777
    Well I got it working, most of the credit goes to the above article. Its weird that it worked with the Vuescan program without that Adaptec ASPI layer installed, but would not work with Nikon Scan at all.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1

    Nikon Scans freezes at splash screen on WinXP PRO SP3

    Was anybody finally able to use Nikon Scan 3.1.x (I mean: the one supporting SCSI scanners such as LS-2000 on Windows XP with SERVICE PACK 2 or 3?

    I have been using this scanner and Nikon Scan sw many years ago, (about 7 years) and I can't remember if my computer was using Win98SE or WinXP already.

    I have tried reinstalling the scanner in my computer in these days (same HW: Athlon XP64, ASUS K8NE-Deluxe) where Windows XP SP3 is installed, but in no way I can have Nikon Scan program working.

    THe scanner is properly seen in the system (LS2000 drivres are loaded) as well as by my SCSI Adaptec card (2940) during computer power-up.

    The ASPI layerws are there. Vuescan sees the scanner and can run previews and scans.

    COnversely, Nikon scan freezes at its splash screen taking 99% of my CPU
    every times I start it.
    No way of solving the problems reinstalling all the hardware (includign a fresh WinXP SP2 reinstal...

    Any help?

    Thanks.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Newton ,Massachusetts
    Posts
    500
    My old HP scanner had a SCSI card. When I upgraded to XP it would not run. I got a new scanner.
    Panasonic FZ20, Kodak DC4800, Canon SD850 for when I don't want to carry a camera
    http://JLVACCARO.4T.COM

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Terra Australis Incognita
    Posts
    3,874
    Can't help you other than to say Nikon scan 4 works with XP, don't know about its predecessors.
    D800, D300, D90, 24-70 f2.8, 70-200VR f2.8, 300 F4, 105 micro, 16-85VR, 50mm 1.8, Tammy 90 macro, 70-300VR, SB900, 2xSB600, MB-D10, 055XPROB 322RC2. New computers to run photoshop faster. C&C always appreciated. PhotoGallery
    Pressing the shutter is the start of the process - Joe McNally ... Buying the body is the start of the process - Dread Pirate

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3

    Got it workin on XP with SP2

    http://support.nikontech.com/app/ans...ail/a_id/13777
    Well I got it working, most of the credit goes to the above article. Its weird that it worked with the Vuescan program without that Adaptec ASPI layer installed, but would not work with Nikon Scan at all. I think what finally did it for me was using the Adaptec ASPI layer.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    I'd appreciate a bit of help on ths please. I used to have this scanner (Coolscan III) working on my ThinkPad but then I had to reload XP Pro and now I canoot get it to work again. My problem is in getting the Nikon Scan application to install. I have followed the advice in the 13777 Nikon article referred to above and I have the correct ASPI modules installed. The only slight difference from the article is that the ASPI32.SYS module is actually in the C:\Windows\system32\drivers directory and I'm not sure if this matters.
    I can see the scaner in device manager and it is identified correctly as a Nikon Coolscan III. However when I try to do the install of the Nikon Scan application by clicking on setup.exe it starts and the installshield wizard gets about 80% of the way through the progress bar (according to the little line) and then it just bombs out. The first time there is no message at all, but subsequent times it says "Error extracting support files: Access is denied" and that's it.
    I have a sneaking suspicion this may be somehow due to different levels of the Installshield wizard because I think I have seen this before but I'm not sure. Can anyone else shed any light on my problem please?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    Apologies for the extra post - I forgot to tick the instant email response box just in case any kins soul replies!

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Terra Australis Incognita
    Posts
    3,874
    I hope you get an answer from someone who knows but thought I'd point out it's an old thread and a pretty specialised question.
    D800, D300, D90, 24-70 f2.8, 70-200VR f2.8, 300 F4, 105 micro, 16-85VR, 50mm 1.8, Tammy 90 macro, 70-300VR, SB900, 2xSB600, MB-D10, 055XPROB 322RC2. New computers to run photoshop faster. C&C always appreciated. PhotoGallery
    Pressing the shutter is the start of the process - Joe McNally ... Buying the body is the start of the process - Dread Pirate

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    If I don't I'm no worse off I guess and if I don't try I never will find out, so there isn't much to loose. I'll be optimistic.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •