Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Christmas Gift Help

Getting my girlfriend a DC for christmas as her current cam is a film camera and its pretty much falling apart.

Shes not very tech friendly.

Budget
    As cheap as I can get it, im a student and dont wana blow tons of cash.

Size
    Size < Price, but the smaller the better so she can bring it around with her.

Features
    How many megapixels will suffice for you?
    From what Ive read 3-4MP is more than enough for your standard photographer. Most pics will be developed in standard size (4x6?).

* What optical zoom will you need? (None, Standard = 3x-4x, Ultrazoom = 10x-12x, Other - Specify)
    Zoom? I guess 3x would be more than enough? Dont really know here.

* How important is “image quality” to you? (Rate using a scale of 1-10)
    7? As long as standard size is photo-quality when developed I think were good.

Do you care for manual controls?
    A few would be good for night pictures(at parties etc)

General Usage
    * What will you generally use the camera for?
    General picture taking its just for vacations, parties, general photo-taking. Nothing hardcore or extreme

* Will you be making big prints of your photos or not?
    More than likely not, tho an 8x10 wouldnt be bad for say an xmas photo etc

Will you be shooting a lot of indoor photos or low light photos?
    A mix, some will be low light as night clubs etc are usually dark with lights.

Will you be shooting sports and/or action photos?
    Could happen, tho not the main focus

Miscellaneous
    Something simple to use, light-weight and in a decent price range is optimal
    Brand names are somewhat important, some flaky brand like zoomoptic or crap like that I wont buy.

Thanks so much!@

Is the Canon A510 too expensive? (around 150$, take into account you will need a bigger SD memory card and a set of NiMH batteries with charger for about 25$)