Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

shoot the moon?!

HEY... I wanna take pictures of the moon with my canon 20D. Though every time I take one it always looks like a dumb flashlight... anyone know how to shoot night shots???

what should the settings be set to???

I'm no pro but have you tried using Spot Metering (or Partial Metering on your 20D) and expose for the moon itself as opposed to using the default Evaluative metering? You can take a look at some half decent photos I've taken of the moon here:

http://www.alragom.com/v/moon/

(To see my exposuse settings select "Display Mode: Detail", then "Photo Properties: Details" at the bottom of each photo, although you might want to shoot at smaller apertures such as f/11 or f/16 to get a more detailed moon shot, use a tripod and a shutter release cable/auto timer as well to avoid camera shake).

There's a very nice thread here related to moon photos so you can take a look at lots of pictures that people have taken of the moon with different settings:

http://dcresource.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7132
    Last edited by Firas; 11-04-2005 at 02:23 AM.
    Canon PowerShot S2 IS
    www.alragom.com

Last I took a pic of the moon, I had to use a relatively short exposure time to keep it from blowing out.

Quote Originally Posted by Badams
    HEY... I wanna take pictures of the moon with my canon 20D. Though every time I take one it always looks like a dumb flashlight... anyone know how to shoot night shots???

Try f.4 1/125

http://static.flickr.com/31/35509254_343f577754_o.jpg

This was shot with a Canon S2 at ISO 50, f/7.1, 1/200 sec. with spot metering. You should be able to do a lot better with your 20D!

What lens are you using?

hey, i just did this a while ago too so here's my moon shot, also with an S2 w/the 1.7x olympus teleconverter.

1/250 F/4 I think...

If you are getting overexposure then reduce the exposure with -EC.