Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Smile Lighting for pics of infants????

Can anyone help me? I am wanting to get into taking pics of infants and children, most of my friends say I have the eye! I have the canon 20d with 420 ex flash, 17-85 lens and the 50 1.8. What I want to buy now is some lighting for this set up. Are strobes or continious lights better? Soft boxes/umbrellas? It seems the choice is too vast, any ideas/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am a newbie at all this so the simpler the better. Thanks so much

I usually keep it really simple. I use available light with the 50mm 1.8, shoot in RAW, then use RSE (Raw Shooter Essentials) to add fill light after-the-fact. I don't use flash mainly because I don't own one, and partially because it'd be a bit harsh on a baby's eyes unless bounced. Bouncing isn't always feasible anyway, especially when the ceilings are high. Here are a couple shots:

Outdoors with some selective color post processing & a tiny bit of glamour blur:

Indoors with only a bit of saturation & levels adjustment:

It's not exactly portrature but if it was, I would use an umbrella on one side as soft fill and a softbox as the main light on the other in a studio setting with muslins as backdrops.
    Ouch.

CDI - Nice shots! I like the desat background of the top, it really sets your child off. Quite an expression on the middle shot. I've tried RSE a little, but I seem to like the results of DPP a little better. Maybe I just haven't tweaked enough in RSE to get the results Thanks for sharing those shots.

Dennis

Quote Originally Posted by D Thompson
    CDI - Nice shots! I like the desat background of the top, it really sets your child off. Quite an expression on the middle shot. I've tried RSE a little, but I seem to like the results of DPP a little better. Maybe I just haven't tweaked enough in RSE to get the results Thanks for sharing those shots.

Dennis