PDA

View Full Version : RAW, .nef viewing and editing in Photoshop CS2

Loren B P
07-03-2005, 12:56 AM
I am rather new to the world of digital photography, so what I have to say here may be obvious to most of the readers of this forum, but; for the new people like me, it may save someone some grief.

I bought my new D70s and a copy of Photoshop CS2 and thought that I was ready for anything. WRONG! I had my copy of PictureProject loaded on the computer and a trial version Nikon Capture. Upps! Found out that you must load your Photoshop BEFORE you load the Nikon software. Even after uninstalling, rebooting and reinstalling I was unable to load RAW file into Photoshop! It also bugged me that raw images were not viewable with the standard Windows viewing software.

To fix the later problem, I found a Windows XP power tool that will allow the viewing of RAW images and it will pass the file to Photoshop. The tool can be found at http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=D48E808E-B10D-4CE4-A141-5866FD4A3286&displaylang=en This still didnít let me open a RAW file by Photoshop without first going through an intermediary software package like the power tool viewer or Nikon Capture; the file type plugin for RAW files that shipped with CS2 just didnít work. Well, Adobe software has new Camera Raw plugin version 3.1 that fixes this problem. I found it at http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=2931

Hope this saves someone the time and grief I went through to get things working smoothly.