PDA

View Full Version : How do I use the features in my F10

digimon
07-01-2005, 08:14 AM
I just bought a Fuji F10 after reading the great reviews from this website. However, I am an amature when it comes to photography. I want to be able to get the best out of the camera, so I was wondering if anyone knew where I could get some advice on such features as ISO settings and natural light. Below are just some of my questions:

-How do I know what ISO setting to use?
-When do I use natural light?
-Should I set the exposure compensation by -1/3EV as suggested by the review? Should this setting be permanent?
-Should I use my flash when the ISO setting is at 1600?
-What shutter speed should I use depending on the time of day?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Digimon

Donato777
07-01-2005, 01:04 PM
Hi,
I hope you won't think that I am pointing out the obvious, but I am a newbie too with many of the same questions about using my F10 and new Oly C-7070. The best thing is to purchase a good book on digital photography, and/or take an online course. For example, if you go to www.shortcourses.com you will find many different beginner's course in digital photography. They are excellent and inexpensive too.

sjseto
07-02-2005, 02:35 PM
Shortcourses.com (http://www.shortcourses.com/) is a useful looking resource (thanks for the link, Donato, I hadn't heard of the site before).

Digimon, I came up with some F10-specific answers to your questions, if you care to read:

How do I know what ISO setting to use?
I like to use the lowest ISO setting possible for better picture quality. That setting will be determined by what shutter speed the camera will use for a particular shot. Rule of thumb is, anything longer than 1/60s can result in a blurry picture due to camera shake, assuming you're not using a tripod.