PDA

View Full Version : What quality settings should I use?[olympus c-5060]

SeanC
09-08-2004, 08:15 PM
Which quality setting should I use for this camera while taking pictures?

It has a ton of options, as I'm new to this, not sure which would be right for which situation. Im guessing standard quality? (SQ-1 High) at 1600x1200(edit: or should I go larger?) would be more than enough (and only 1.5mb per picture). For sharing online It would be compressed to smaller sizes (1024x768 or 640x480 for browsing sizes), so that would bump the appeared quality even more.

Just asking for some suggestions for a new and eager photographer (MY CAMERA COMES IN TOMORROW!)

Also: in the dcr review of this camera he said he used -2 or -3 sharpness due to the fact the camera already takes very sharp pictures, anyone else suggest this?

Ben Miller
09-08-2004, 08:50 PM
Well, the standard response is to set the quality as high as you can. After all, you paid for a high-quality 5 MP camera, so why shortchange yourself by throwing away resolution? You can use your photo editing software of choice to reduce the size of the picture later, but you only have one chance to take it, so you should grab all the pixels you can. Besides, memory chips are relatively cheap these days.

If you want the camera to make smaller files, I would suggest taking full resolution (2592 x 1944) pictures at the HQ setting. This will produce approximately a 1 MB file. (At the SHQ setting the files will be about 3 MB.) Olympus' quality settings are especially confusing. I would suggest looking at the quality settings table in Jeff's review (http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/olympus/c5060wz-review/) to get an idea of which levels are better than others.

I also have the 5060 and I've turned the sharpness setting down to -2. It seems to make a difference, but it's pretty slight.

Enjoy your camera!

SeanC
09-08-2004, 08:59 PM
1mb file for that size?