PDA

View Full Version : ISO what who?

gabo234
06-06-2005, 06:37 PM
Hey guys and gals,
I'm a real newbie, but I guess if I don't ask, I'll never learn. I'm wondering what the different ISO settings are used for and in what situations do they make a difference. To my understanding, the ISO setting changes the sensors sensitivity...please correct me if I'm wrong. Anways, I always see that the higher the ISO is set at, the noisier the image gets...well I was just wondering how exactly to use the different ISO settings to my advantage, and when to use manually set them...any help is appreciated.

David Metsky
06-06-2005, 06:47 PM
Higher sensitivity allows you to shoot in lower light, at the expense of noise.

-dave-

g0tr00t
06-07-2005, 06:39 AM
I am a low light junkie. I always advise to experiment shooting at high ISO's and let the noise work for you.

I recently shot 40 rolls of B&W, developed them at home and printed 8x10's. To my surprise, the film grain was in excess of digital noise on my digital camera's at ISO 400. LOL....

I now use the noise to work for me rather than becoming a pixel peeper and trying to smooth out the image.

Good luck!

John_Reed
06-07-2005, 07:03 AM
Hey guys and gals,