PDA

View Full Version : Raw vs JPEG

MissJezabelle
05-23-2005, 11:20 AM
Raw vs JPEG. Can someone explain this in laymans terms for me. Is there a benefit of one vs the other. I noticed the DSLR rebel I just got will shoot in both, but I have no knowledge or experience with RAW. If I shoot in that will i have to convert everything in order to print them at the local shop? special software?? I curently hava PSP 9.0 and Photoshop 7.0. Any info and Ideas are much appreciated.

erichlund
05-23-2005, 12:48 PM
RAW - You take a picture. The camera captures the data from the sensor and stores it in a buffer. It may or may not compress this data (the D70 does), but if it does, this is the ONLY time it ever gets compressed. It then writes all this information to a file on the storage media (the D70 uses CF card), attaching to this file some extra data called the meta data. The meta data contains all the settings you used to take the picture.

Anytime you view the picture, you need a RAW file viewer/editor. This program applies metadata to the picture and displays it, without changing the RAW sensor data. You can alter meta data settings to change how the picture looks, and this does not make any change to the RAW sensor data. You can save the changed meta data without altering the RAW sensor data. If you display the image in the camera, the camera applies the meta data just as a separate program would.

PSP 9 has a RAW editor/viewer built in for a number of different cameras, including the D70.