PDA

View Full Version : Searching For Good Camera

Judy
05-22-2005, 09:12 AM
I am very new to this digital stuff. I have a hp photosmart 320 w/ 2.1 MP & 4X zoom now, but it doesn't do what I am lookng for. I would like a cmaera that would take good action shots. I attend concerts on a regular bascis and any shots I take are either dark, blurry {if movement is invovled}. I like to get up close on some shots, like picking out 1 individual in a group, etc. Most still shots taken out in the lobby area turn out good, but the others are mostly bad. I would appreciate any suggestions you may have. Feel free to email me also. judybrannin@aol.com

JTL
05-22-2005, 10:05 AM
I am very new to this digital stuff. I have a hp photosmart 320 w/ 2.1 MP & 4X zoom now, but it doesn't do what I am lookng for. I would like a cmaera that would take good action shots. I attend concerts on a regular bascis and any shots I take are either dark, blurry {if movement is invovled}. I like to get up close on some shots, like picking out 1 individual in a group, etc. Most still shots taken out in the lobby area turn out good, but the others are mostly bad. I would appreciate any suggestions you may have. Feel free to email me also. judybrannin@aol.com The Achilles heel of P&S digital cameras is their inability to capture low-light action effectively. That's because there are either compromises in the ability to shoot cleanly at higher ISO (due to sensor size and design) or compromises relating to the lens speed, especially when zooming. That said, the Fuji F10 has the ability to shoot at up to ISO 1600 with very good results. I haven't seen anyone post low-light action shots with it yet...maybe you should check out the http://www.pbase.com (http://www.pbase.com/) galleries and search on Fuji F10 and see if any good examples show up. But, the truth is, to really get good quality for concert situations, you really need a dSLR and a fast lens....at least that's my opinion...others may disagree...