PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Olympus Xd memory card



khaotix01
05-20-2005, 02:17 AM
I have purchased an Olympus Xd 512Mb card on ebay and it does not seem to be work on my Kodak Ls755 5.0 megapixel camera. When inserted the card requested to be format which i then comply.

The thing is, it keeps asking me to format and the camera does not recognise the card over and over again. I have used the card on another ls755 at the camera store and the same problem sitll occurs. Kodak have advised to return the card but since its ebay its such a nightmare.

Any Help ?

D70FAN
05-20-2005, 06:03 AM
I have purchased an Olympus Xd 512Mb card on ebay and it does not seem to be work on my Kodak Ls755 5.0 megapixel camera. When inserted the card requested to be format which i then comply.

The thing is, it keeps asking me to format and the camera does not recognise the card over and over again. I have used the card on another ls755 at the camera store and the same problem sitll occurs. Kodak have advised to return the card but since its ebay its such a nightmare.

Any Help ?

I don't recall Kodak using xD cards. So you might want to try an SD card instead. xD is usied in Olympus and Fuji cameras, not in Kodak that I'm aware of.

khaotix01
05-20-2005, 06:40 PM
the camera supports xd memory card as instructed by kodak tech support and the instruction manual.

Why does it keep asking me to format when i have already done so. After the format the card is not readible by the camera thus rendering it useless.

Any help or similar experience

Rhys
05-20-2005, 07:11 PM
the camera supports xd memory card as instructed by kodak tech support and the instruction manual.

Why does it keep asking me to format when i have already done so. After the format the card is not readible by the camera thus rendering it useless.

Any help or similar experience

Try formatting in the camera as opposed to in the computer. It could be restricted to FAT 16 and the computer's formatting to FAT 32 or even to NTFS (ETH 0 is you run Linux).

khaotix01
05-25-2005, 07:41 AM
hey thanks for the respond guys.

I have formated the card using the camera as it was the first thing i did when i recieved the card. The camera specialist at Myers also formated the card using the external and internal card reader with various formats such as win xp format ntfs, fat 32 and fat 16.

Another factor which shows the card i bought from ebay was defective was when Myers had a spare 512 olympus xd card and it works perfectly on my camera.

And Ls755 kodak does support xd cards

http://www.kodak.com/eknec/PageQuerier.jhtml;jsessionid=0NG0YCU3IKOGPFW4FAKHW EMW1YUEE4L4?pq-path=2810&Submit.x=12&Submit.y=16&pq-locale=en_AU&_requestid=24752

as per instructed by technical help from kodak and per instruction manual.

Dropper
05-31-2005, 08:37 AM
I have the same problem with the same card but purchased from Amazon. I found that I can get the card to work temporarily if when it says to format the card I press cancel and then open the card cover, eject the card and push it back in, then close the card cover. It gives me a little warning about not opening the card cover whilst the power is on, but the card retains it's memory and it all works from there.

Obviously this is a pain and I want to get it to work without having to go through this process. I was thinking about returning the card to Amazon, but I first tried the card in someone else's camera (a Fuji camera) and the card worked. So I'm thinking the card is not faulty, but the camera is.

Kodak tech support have said that I should send the camera in for repair, which I fear could take months. I may just have to do it anyway to get this sorted out although I believe it is a problem with the firmware which ideally I'd be able to download and update myself.

drmurti
06-13-2005, 08:35 AM
Dear LS755 victim,

Unfortunately the 512MB Olypmus XD-Card is incompatible with LS755. I have the same problem. The shop changed my 512Mb Olympus, same problem persists.
Send the camera to service, they gave me a brand new one but the same "card read error" continues.
The uppon thread is true. If card inserted after camera is turned on, you can use the XD-Card. But why should I do this on every camera usage?
And why doesn't Kodak bother a lither themselfes and test these terrible cards?

khaotix01
06-26-2005, 01:50 AM
I have sent the camera back and luckily enough Kodak was generous enough to fix this problem by giving me a new 512 kodak xd picture card. They say the card is infact defective but either ways this nightmare is fixed and this is a really bad start to digital photography for me.

None the less i hope things will be brighter from now on.

Word of warning DO NOT BUY from the seller digigallery from ebay. I had to file an buyer protection claim and i won the case.

JTF
06-26-2005, 06:06 AM
I was considering buying a new Olympus 765 Ultra on e-bay but just noticed it uses an XD card. Will this work with Win 98 & do the card readers at local walmart have a XD card slot if needed. Just wondering if I should not purchase this camera only for the XD card reason.

braveheart
07-09-2005, 07:36 AM
I have purchased an Olympus Xd 512Mb card on ebay and it does not seem to be work on my Kodak Ls755 5.0 megapixel camera. When inserted the card requested to be format which i then comply.

The thing is, it keeps asking me to format and the camera does not recognise the card over and over again. I have used the card on another ls755 at the camera store and the same problem sitll occurs. Kodak have advised to return the card but since its ebay its such a nightmare.

Any Help ?

No Kodak dont use xd-picture card as they only use CF or SD or SM... xd-picture card are designed for Fuji and Olympus camera... you cant use xd-picture card on yer camera, it wont work as sometime manual gave wrong printed, check the new manual online on Kodak website and see if it correct one.

Dropper
07-12-2005, 11:20 AM
The camera definitely uses xd cards. It is the first camera that Kodak have made to use it so I guess that is why they are having teething problems.

However, there is now a firmware update available from the Kodak website which sorts out the problem. I've downloaded it and updated my camera quite easily and all works fine now.

ReValveiT
07-20-2005, 12:18 PM
So what's this then?

http://www.kodak.com/MEDIA/ProductCatalog/M3269_acc_EKN030443_OBJ00002.jpg

python01
10-22-2005, 02:06 PM
Does xD card have so many problems? I have Olympus C-7000 and it does the same all the time, both with a Fuji and Olympus made cards. Is the xD bad format choice for the time being?

solai11
03-12-2006, 10:47 AM
I had a problem when my XD card that i have been using in my olympus camera suddenly would not recognize it and alsways said "Card error" and that i should "Format".
There is a solution to this ( i read this somewhere), take the XD card to any store that sells cameras and just put it in a FUJI camera and "Format' it in that camera. Thats it, you are all set, your card will work again in a Olymous camera.
I was really pissed when my cards didn't work and Olympus wanted you to mail it back to them with all proof of purchase etc. for them to even help.
Try this and you will be happy

Kal1869
06-01-2006, 10:06 AM
I have an olympus fe-100 and i was taking pictures then i shut it off as usual when i was done but when i went to use it again it automatically went to card setup and i either had to turn power off or format my memory card. Can someone please tell me how i can get my pictures off like by printing them at a store or on my computer before i format it and lose all my pictures. please tell me some good news. Thanks:mad:

y036d
06-25-2006, 10:37 AM
I have an olympus fe-100 and i was taking pictures then i shut it off as usual when i was done but when i went to use it again it automatically went to card setup and i either had to turn power off or format my memory card. Can someone please tell me how i can get my pictures off like by printing them at a store or on my computer before i format it and lose all my pictures. please tell me some good news. Thanks:mad:

I have had a similar problem. I have had this memory card for a year and it has always worked, but after hiking for two days in the Rocky Mountains I got home and stuck my memory card into my laptop and the Power off or Format message came up. Needless to say I'm very unset with this. Does anyone know how I can get the pictures off the memory card without formating my card?

gatrnol
07-09-2006, 06:10 AM
I have had a similar problem. I have had this memory card for a year and it has always worked, but after hiking for two days in the Rocky Mountains I got home and stuck my memory card into my laptop and the Power off or Format message came up. Needless to say I'm very unset with this. Does anyone know how I can get the pictures off the memory card without formating my card?

Similar information would also be helpful to me. I have a brand new Olympus 720SW with a 1gb card. I took several underwater pictures during an excursion on a cruise last week. I can scroll through them on the camera, and the FIRST time I hooked it up to my computer I could see them on there also. After that, I can't access images on the computer, either through the camara/cable or the xd reader in my computer. It says to either INSERT card or format card. I suppose some error occured, and now only my camera can see the images..:(

Thanks

gatrnol
07-09-2006, 06:12 AM
Reposting to assure that I am actually subscribed to this forum...:D

Tom

zachandchelsea
10-07-2006, 11:30 PM
My wife and I had this exact same problem after visiting San Antonio, Texas. There are two free programs that can help you get your files back. Search for PC Inspector Smart Recovery (specifically for images) and PC Inspector File Recovery. Try those programs and you should have most of your pictures back - at least we did. Good luck!

tindindoli
05-26-2007, 12:24 AM
I have a FinePix A330, and an Olympus 256Mb xD card, which was made by Samsung. At some point this card failed to save images. The camera would shoot as normal but when I went to view or transfer it told me there was no images on the card. I figured this xD card was shot, but I kept it anyway.

After reading here about the format requests by other cameras, I plugged it in the camera and found the format option in the menu, which I wasn't even aware of. This FinePix isn't smart enough to pull up a card setup menu on it's own, I guess. Turns out that after a format, this card works again. Will I be foolish to trust it anymore?

chronic student
12-20-2007, 02:06 PM
My wife and I had this exact same problem after visiting San Antonio, Texas. There are two free programs that can help you get your files back. Search for PC Inspector Smart Recovery (specifically for images) and PC Inspector File Recovery. Try those programs and you should have most of your pictures back - at least we did. Good luck!

thank you so much zachandchelsea because it really worked!!! i regained my pictures with PC Inspector Smart Recovery programme and it's free to download. i have olympus μ (mju) 810. my card did this before and i lost 100 pictures. for example i take picture and i turn the camera off, then i turn it on and it suddenly says "card error" and it gives me the options:
a) format
b) turn off/ shot the power down

pc inspector smart recovery protected me from losing my pictures. thank you. well, how can i get my videos with this programme? i choose the format type 'quicktime mov' but got nothing. could you help me?

chronic student
12-20-2007, 03:35 PM
upps sorry but this programme (pc inspetor smart recovery) brings deleted pictures, not harmed pictures. i can't find my recently taken photos? i got the photos which i deleted long time ago but i can't find last taken but not deleted photos??

I apologize to you because these pictures are not the deleted ones - these are what i'm looking for. they are the recent photos. that means the programme worked perfectly for now. thank you for your attention.

David Metsky
12-20-2007, 03:42 PM
Sometimes, the photos/videos aren't there anymore, or are corrupted beyond recovery.

nickc
07-07-2008, 09:37 AM
I have an Olympus which has been working fine. Recently I took the card out to view on my computer and it did not recognise it. I then plugged the camera into the computer to view through camedia, again it did not recognise it. The camera is then asking if I want to format the card. I am nervous that if I do this all the pics will be erased. Any ideas?

JLV
07-07-2008, 05:20 PM
I have an Olympus which has been working fine. Recently I took the card out to view on my computer and it did not recognise it. I then plugged the camera into the computer to view through camedia, again it did not recognise it. The camera is then asking if I want to format the card. I am nervous that if I do this all the pics will be erased. Any ideas?

I have good luck with Photo Recovery program. You can download it from the following site:

http://www.artplus.hr/adapps/eng/dpr.htm

Good luck