PDA

View Full Version : SD memory card error w/ istDS

drarmstrong
05-18-2005, 10:26 PM
Yesterday I purchased a new *ist DS and have run into a weird SD card problem, first with a Lexar 1GB and then with an ATP 1GB (x60). When I put the Lexar in and powered the camera on it gave me a "memory card error" message. I'm totally new in the DSLR / SD world so I thought maybe it just needed to be formatted. Same error. I tried the card in my daughter's Nikon P&S camera and it said "Card cannot be used". So, I took it back for a refund.

I found a good deal on the ATP card from a different retailer and picked it up on the way home, put it in and was I ever bummed when it came up with the same "memory card error" message. We had to go out for a few hours (while I counted to 10 million) and when I came back the camera now it works - no errors. I cannot reproduce the error message now with the ATP card - I take it out, put it back in and it still works.

I read some of the threads on SD problems in the Memory Card forum that did not sound too good. But this sure sounds like a camera problem to me (contacts or something not so simple) so I thought I'd start here. I'm called the dealer I bought it from (before it started working) and I'm still going to take it back for them to take a look. But I'd appreciate any thoughts/tips if anyone has had any similar experiences. We are going to take a once in a lifetime trip and I'd like to have a stable camera…

jeisner
05-18-2005, 11:09 PM
I would take it back to the dealer, just to be on the safe side... I have had no issues whatsoever with any of my SD Cards with the *ist DS....

WightWalker
05-19-2005, 01:31 AM
I've used a couple of these High Speed 1G x60 SD Cards with no problems. I also found that there was no speed performance inmprovement over PNY standard speed cards.

drarmstrong
05-19-2005, 08:23 AM