PDA

View Full Version : Casio camera repairs lens error

misterMe
05-15-2005, 02:28 AM
I've been repairing CASIO Digital Cameras for 15 years. Lately, I've seen lots of CASIO users with lens problems. It took me a little while to figure out what was causing the problems, but I've got the answers.

Problem: Lens error.
Symptom: Lens will not extend upon power up.
Cause: Lens is impeded while trying to extend.
This is usually caused by one of two circumstances. (1) The user dropped the camera while the lens was extended causing a mechanical failure. (2) The lens attempts to extend while in a pouch or pocket without the user's knowledge. This usually happens when the user is carrying the camera with the battery in. When/if the REC button or power button is pressed accidentally, the lens will attempt to extend but can't. This causes the main drive gears to be damaged.

Solution: Replace the main drive gear assembly. This should only be done by a qualified tech.
If you've experienced this you know exactly what I mean. This should clear up any notion that the "Lens Gods" have cursed you. Although this may have appeared to be a mystery, it's always caused by something!

Problem: Lens error.
Symptom: Lens extends, makes a few buzzing noises and retracts, resulting in "lens error" message.
Cause: This is caused by damage to the focus lens often by impact, or sand in the mechanism.
Solution:The focus lens gears either need to be replaced or the assembly completely rebuilt. Again, this should be done by a qualified tech. It's a very delicate process.

Problem: Aperture unit failure
Symptom: Images appear to be washed out, over exposed and often have horizontal lines through them.
Cause:The aperture unit is either stuck, damaged or not receiving the proper electrical signal to activate. The result is that the aperture remains open after the picture is taken and CCD is over exposed.