PDA

View Full Version : Flash

Dusty
05-04-2005, 06:14 PM
Hello I'm new to the dslr world, just bought a digital rebel 300D and was wondering what is a good flash for it, is the canon speedlite 420ex ok or is there other flashes that are better or cheaper then that one

Thanks

TheObiJuan
05-04-2005, 06:24 PM
I have this flash, it is great for the minimal flash needs that I have. The only thing that gets me is the slow recycle time. For this I will upgrade to the 580EX.

The 420EX is the minimum that I would purchase if I were you.

Savannah
05-04-2005, 07:37 PM
Does anybody like the Sigma EF-500 DG ST Flash for Canon E-TTL II ?? Its half the price.

Just wondering :o

TheObiJuan
05-04-2005, 07:40 PM
It is a good flash, it doesn't provide the features that the canon 580ex does, it doesn't have the same range, and future compatibility may be iffy.

jamison55
05-05-2005, 03:03 AM
Does anybody like the Sigma EF-500 DG ST Flash for Canon E-TTL II ?? Its half the price.

I have it...have been using it more lately (I forayed into the world of old auto-tryistor flashes for a while). It is a great flash. The high speed sync mode alone is worth buying it over the 420ex. 2nd curtain sync is neat as well and full manual mode. There aren't too many things the 580ex can do that this flash can't, but it is about 1/2 the price. The more challenging part is learning to use the Canon ETTL system. After a bunch of weddings I think it is finally starting to sink (or sync) in.

Tsukroffphoto
05-05-2005, 10:08 AM
Unluckily, the 300D is just ETTL, not "II". Which means it evaluates flash exposure from one of the 7 focus points.

This creates a problem when the focus point is on a white or a dark object, since the camera will under- or over-expose. There have been some suggested workarounds on this, mainly with the 10D, but they are not really possible with the 300D.