PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with this picture?

christila
05-02-2005, 09:19 PM
Hi y'all,

I just bought the Olympus Evolt at Costco this weekend, and I am really a novice. My last digital camera is a 1.2 MP Oly Camedia deal; my main camera is a Canon Rebel 35 mm with the lens kit that is set to auto, I seriously have never made a manual adjustment to photos taken with it (and they were decent, by my standards, which is amateur, novice, taking photos of the kids.

Sooo, I was at Costco and couldn't resist the dual lens kit and the four thirds system - I picked up the kit and a 1 GB CF and have been playing around. I also bought the Complete Idiot's Guide to Photography Like a Pro and have been reading it slowly.

Anyway, was wondering if someone could tell me what is wrong with this picture. It is really glare-y; was wondering what adjustment would fix this. A UV filter? A lens hood? An adjustment of another kind? Would appreciate any guidance, here's the photo (I hope this posts it).

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v220/christila/alex.bmp

Okay, also, so far I love the the Evolt with one exception that everyone already knows about - low light shooting is a bit weak. Was wondering if it made sense to purchase the Zuiko 18-54 lens (in addition to the 18-45 lens that came in the kit) or if that is ridiculously redundant. Thanks for your help.

:) christine

TheObiJuan
05-02-2005, 10:05 PM
The contrast is off because of lens flare. Also the image has a slight color cast. Adjusting the levels will fix this.

Excellent capture btw. The little girl's face is incredible!
A lens hood would help out a bunch, but if you do not have one, try not shooting into the sun, or using your hand and cupping the front of the lens to shield the sun.

Rex914
05-02-2005, 10:07 PM