PDA

View Full Version : Opportunity of a lifetime: space shuttle launch

Jeff Keller
04-20-2005, 09:19 PM
Next month I will be lucky enough to be in the press area at Kennedy Space Center for the launch of the Space Shuttle. Anybody ever done this before? I'm looking for tips, lens suggestions, etc. I will be bringing my 20D and maybe some other stuff if I can get it...

Thanks!

Bluedog
04-20-2005, 10:18 PM
Awesome ... a good tripod for sure.

gary_hendricks
04-21-2005, 06:19 AM
A backup camera and a video cam too! :)

SamuraiJack
04-21-2005, 03:43 PM
Sweet...I've been to the Kennedy Space Center a few times. I saw the launch of a shuttle as well. It's one of the most amazing things you will ever see. Can't wait to see the photos.

I'm not a photography expert, so I can't offer any opinions on lenses, etc. All I own is my SD500. :)

Wes

Bald Eagle
04-21-2005, 05:48 PM
When next month? we dont live too far away, maybe an hour or two. I would also love to take some great shots. Last time i was there was to fire six nuclear missiles into the ocean. In my military days, and no the warheads were not active
;)

Jeff Keller
04-21-2005, 07:06 PM
When next month? we dont live too far away, maybe an hour or two. I would also love to take some great shots. Last time i was there was to fire six nuclear missiles into the ocean. In my military days, and no the warheads were not active
;)

The launch date is currently May 22nd but it could be as late as June 3rd. I will be in Florida beginning on 5/17. I'll be in the press area which is not accessible to the public. I watched from Port Canaveral a few years ago which is about as close as you can get without being on the base I think.

Bald Eagle
04-21-2005, 07:47 PM
Thanks for the info. I will try and be there if i can. Take as many photos as you can :)

jamison55
04-22-2005, 03:01 AM