PDA

View Full Version : best book(s) for getting into dSLRs

pmuhlrad
08-27-2004, 06:41 PM
Sorry if this has been asked a lot already. I couldn't find anything in a search. I'm considering getting an EOS-20D. It would be my first digital SLR, and even my first autofocus SLR. I'm currently using a 30 year old Olympus OM-2 (excellent camera, but a bit outdated now). I know there are tons of books out there on DSLRs, but could someone help me sift through them to find the best one for me? I'm not a total beginner at photography, but by no means advanced either. I am fairly well versed at the computer end of digital graphics (pretty good with the Adobe CS suite). I soak up lots of technical information. Of the few photography books I have, my favorites are those of John Shaw on nature photography, if that helps to give you an idea of what I'm looking for. Thanks for any suggestions.

Paul

Rhys
08-28-2004, 04:10 AM
Sorry if this has been asked a lot already. I couldn't find anything in a search. I'm considering getting an EOS-20D. It would be my first digital SLR, and even my first autofocus SLR. I'm currently using a 30 year old Olympus OM-2 (excellent camera, but a bit outdated now). I know there are tons of books out there on DSLRs, but could someone help me sift through them to find the best one for me? I'm not a total beginner at photography, but by no means advanced either. I am fairly well versed at the computer end of digital graphics (pretty good with the Adobe CS suite). I soak up lots of technical information. Of the few photography books I have, my favorites are those of John Shaw on nature photography, if that helps to give you an idea of what I'm looking for. Thanks for any suggestions.

Paul

The camera manual is a good place to start. Other than that I don't really see much difference between dSLRs and SLRs. The only major difference is that the dSLR will handle the focussing for you instead of doing it yourself.