PDA

View Full Version : advice for new 300D owner about the hack

roguecoolman
04-15-2005, 07:54 PM
hello,

I'm a new owner to the rebel 300D. I am also a beginner into SLR photography.

I've read into the firmware hack, to my knowledge there are atleast 2 correct?

wasai http://satinfo.narod.ru/en/download.html

and undutchable? (i cant see to find their official download page and documentation, if anyone has it if you could pass that along, it'll be great!)

I just want to know from the users who have used the firmware hacks, which one is better?

Have there been any problems? (i've read so far that it works fine).

to be honest, i'm green to slr photography, do you recommend me to use the firmware or get use to the camera first and then try the firmware hack? I've also read the process for the wasai hack is reversible, is the undutchable the same as well?

any info would be great, thanks.

Bluedog
04-15-2005, 08:29 PM
Use the camera and learn its capability before even thinking about making any modifications.

gary_hendricks
04-15-2005, 08:52 PM
I agree with BlueDog ... don't mess with firmware until you've totally immersed yourself in the basic operations of the camera. The 300D is a lovely camera, enjoy it as it is ... ;)

speaklightly
04-15-2005, 09:36 PM
Gary and Bluedog-

While I do truly understand that using any hacks will void the warraty on any 300D, why not?

At some point, this user is going to want to truly unleash all of the potentials of the Canon 300D. So does it really make a huge difference when it is done?

If I had a Canon 300D, I would want to get the very most out of it.

Sarah Joyce

jamison55
04-16-2005, 04:15 AM