PDA

View Full Version : Hello from a new forum member

Blue Star
04-03-2005, 11:26 PM
Hello all,

I am a new member here. Still browsing through all the forums sections & this looks like a great place to learn.

I am a newbie to digital photography. Have some experience with G3 & now I own a canon 20D. & so I decided to make my first post here.

I will stick around & try to learn from you guys.
PS: Hope I have posted my greetings in right place :-)

ReF
04-04-2005, 01:54 AM
hi! it would be nice if you could show us something cool in the gallery (no pressure, really). so what lenses are you using? just trying to make conversation :p cool thing about this forum is that it's hard to find snobs, unlike some of the other sites. you run into tons of snobs in every field/hobby/catagory of interest; the last thing we need is to be surrounded by them. hope you'll feel welcome here. :)

Blue Star
04-04-2005, 02:05 AM
Thanks ReF.
Will surely post something soon.
I dont have much lenses at the moment. Actually my 20D itself is less than 2 months old.
I have a sigma 18-125mm DC lens, a EF 50mm f1.8 II along with a polarizer for my sigma. I am planning to get one more lense, but am really unable to decide which should be next. My options are
70-200 mm f4L
OR
EF 100 mm f 2.8 macro.

I am no expert but macro photos really appeal a lot to me. On the other hand a bit more telephoto reach with L lens wouldnt be bad either.

Dont say get them both as I really cant :-(. I need to get a monopod & a decent bag also...

Any thoughts to offer ? :-)

Bluedog
04-04-2005, 04:44 AM
Welcome aboard! I just ordered the same Sigma lens you have as its suppose to be one of the better zooms in that range. Just remember to play around and take notes. Take lots of photographs and learn to bracket the exposure for different results. Thats the beauty of digital is if you mess up and have something you don't like, just edited or delete.

speaklightly
04-04-2005, 06:47 AM
Bluedog-