PDA

View Full Version : Digital Rebel - Sports action shots blurred..Help!

cdav
03-29-2005, 02:00 PM
Hello, I'm new to digital SLR cameras, I purchased a Canon EOS Digital Rebel with the standard lense that comes with the kit, my problem is I took some indoor pictures of my daughter playing volleyball, in every action shot the subject is blurred, other items around the subject seem focused. Is there a setting adjustment I can make or do I need a better lense or camera?

Thanks
Cdav - newbie

shevbo
03-29-2005, 02:22 PM
Try using a higher ISO setting, like 1600 or higher. I don't know how high it goes on your Canon so its up to you.

If that does not work then you will have to get a faster lense...f2.8 would be nice, but they cost a lot.

scout_22
03-29-2005, 02:34 PM
Hello, I'm new to digital SLR cameras, I purchased a Canon EOS Digital Rebel with the standard lense that comes with the kit, my problem is I took some indoor pictures of my daughter playing volleyball, in every action shot the subject is blurred, other items around the subject seem focused. Is there a setting adjustment I can make or do I need a better lense or camera?

Thanks
Cdav - newbie

Funny, thats one of the reasons I bought the EOS, was with volleyball in mind.

The ISO on the EOS does go up to 1600. Im still trying to figure out what the best shutter speed should be. One of the problems I had the first time taking pics was the gym we were in was kind of dark. I think it might work better in a well lit gym..??

Mike

TheObiJuan
03-29-2005, 02:37 PM
Get a tripod and adjust ISO so your shutter speed can go down. Your kit lens is way too slow to use for indoor sports. I would recommend something atleast f/2.8.
Do you own the 50mm f/1.8? You could use it at f/2 and crop the pictures as needed. Watch your shutter times and your apertures. If you are getting blur it is because either you are moving too much, or the shutter speed is too slow.