PDA

View Full Version : Nature photography

yeimaya
08-20-2004, 11:29 AM
i am studying Harbor Seals, using a 22X spotting scope to observe a group that haul out on a rock that is 1500 feet away. Does anyone have an opinion whether the Panasonic Lumix Dmc fz20 will do better than my scope and my trusty pencil drawings through the scope? Or does anyone have other suggestions? I can identify individuals by the markings on their bellies but would love to have good photographs rather than just drawings.

John_Reed
08-20-2004, 11:56 AM
i am studying Harbor Seals, using a 22X spotting scope to observe a group that haul out on a rock that is 1500 feet away. Does anyone have an opinion whether the Panasonic Lumix Dmc fz20 will do better than my scope and my trusty pencil drawings through the scope? Or does anyone have other suggestions? I can identify individuals by the markings on their bellies but would love to have good photographs rather than just drawings.500 yards is a long distance away! You're talking about the equivalent of 1100mm lens reach, which may be barely doable by the FZ20, which can reach out to ~950mm equivalent with something like a Raynox 2.2X telextender. I would think you'd be better off to find an adapter for your spotting scope that would allow you to attach a lower-mag digital camera. I've seen people using Nikon 4500s in this way; if you have that setup, your 22X scope can then be magnified by the optical zoom of the 4500, for example, which is another 4X, putting you far beyond the reach of the FZ20.

judge9847
08-20-2004, 03:24 PM