PDA

View Full Version : Silly question about nikon lens

vitco
03-18-2005, 07:36 AM
Hi,
I have been using my Nikon N80 35mm SLR camera for 5 years. I use this camera with the standard lens (Nikon Nikkor 28mm-80mm AF) and a tele lens (Quantaray 80mm-300mm AF). I have invested my money on various filters and I am quite happy with the system.

Coming to the digital age, I have a 2 year old simple Nikon Coolpix 3100. It is a tiny point & shoot camera but already showing some problems. So, I want a transition into a prosumer model Digital camera, to make use of my 35mm SLR usage skills. I looked at following models:

1. The SLR-like digital cameras Canon Powershot G6 and Sony DSC-V3. They have quite nice features and reasonable price. I am little hesitant to purchase all the accessories like tele/wide len, flashlight for these models.
2. Go for true DSLR camera like Nikon D70 or Canon 300D Rebel EOS. Coming to my silly question, can I make use of the lenses I have for Nikon N80 with the DSLR like Nikon D70. Since, I have spent enough on 35mm SLR camera, I am thinking if I can use the accessories for DSLR camera. If so, are there any other DSLR cameras that are compatible with Nikon Nikkor/Quantaray lenses.

I know it is a long story, but appreciate your thoughts.

Thanks.

sherlock
03-18-2005, 01:31 PM
Hi,
I have been using my Nikon N80 35mm SLR camera for 5 years. I use this camera with the standard lens (Nikon Nikkor 28mm-80mm AF) and a tele lens (Quantaray 80mm-300mm AF). I have invested my money on various filters and I am quite happy with the system.

Coming to the digital age, I have a 2 year old simple Nikon Coolpix 3100. It is a tiny point & shoot camera but already showing some problems. So, I want a transition into a prosumer model Digital camera, to make use of my 35mm SLR usage skills. I looked at following models: