PDA

View Full Version : Confused

blackphnx
03-15-2005, 05:35 AM
Hi guys... I'm a newbie in the world of photography... currently i purchasd DSC-V3.. I read alot of tutorials about how to take better images. The problem im facing right now is whenever I shoot... I'm confused if what shutter speed or what aperture should I use... I'm afraid maybe I will got overexposed or underexposed images.. so I always tend to rely on auto mode or on histogram... Can somebody give me tips on how to clear my confusion...

Thanks.

Ray Schnoor
03-15-2005, 05:53 AM
I'm confused if what shutter speed or what aperture should I use... I'm afraid maybe I will got overexposed or underexposed images..

If what you mean is shooting in Aperture or Shutter priority, you only set the indicated item. The camera will set the other so that you have a correct exposure.

For shutter priority, you would select a fast shutter to stop action for shooting things such as sports. The camera would then automatically set the aperture for the correct exposure.

For aperture priority, you would select a small aperture to increase depth of field. The camera would then automatically set the shutter speed for the correct exposure.

Ray.

blackphnx
03-15-2005, 06:02 AM
Thanks for the info. I would like to use the Manual mode to familiarize myself like what the pro does. If I get used to the auto mode always, i will got hard time when i got a manual camera... :( I'm asking these stuff bec. im going on vacation for 2 weeks and I want to get the best images i can...

thanks.

Ray Schnoor
03-15-2005, 06:17 AM
I would like to use the Manual mode to familiarize myself like what the pro does. If I get used to the auto mode always, i will got hard time when i got a manual camera...