PDA

View Full Version : canon 20D question



Hairsonmychest
03-05-2005, 06:56 PM
i recently bought a 20D with a 50mm f/1.4 lens. i love it.
the weird thing is with a gig card, the camera tells me i can take 279 picutres but when i max out my CF card, i have more than 400 pictures with the biggest picture quality setting without going RAW format. how is this so? (each of my pictures are only 2.3 megs... is that right?)

Mr. Peabody
03-05-2005, 08:22 PM
I have a San Disk Ultra II 1 gig card.

I had a Digital Rebel. I could put about 165 pics on it at the highest resolution whick was 6.2, I think.

Now I have a Canon 20D. I still have the same 1 gig card. Now, I can put 240 pics at the 8.2 resolution on it.

Doesn't make sense to me. I would have figured that it would hold fewer pics not more.

D70FAN
03-05-2005, 08:57 PM
I have a San Disk Ultra II 1 gig card.

I had a Digital Rebel. I could put about 165 pics on it at the highest resolution whick was 6.2, I think.

Now I have a Canon 20D. I still have the same 1 gig card. Now, I can put 240 pics at the 8.2 resolution on it.

Doesn't make sense to me. I would have figured that it would hold fewer pics not more.

I'm thinking you need to make sure that your camera is set to the correct resolution as a 1 GB card should net about 277 Pictures so 240 might be about right. Sounds like the DReb was shooting in raw, or something was amiss in the memory interface.

Here are the approximate file sizes for the 20D:

RAW 3504 x 2336
RAW = 8.7 MB

JPEG

Large 3504 x 2336
Fine = 3.6 MB
Normal = 1.8 MB

Medium2544 x 1696
Fine = 2.2 MB
Normal = 1.1 MB

Small 1728 x 1152
Fine = 1.2 MB
Normal = 600 KB

Mr. Peabody
03-05-2005, 09:19 PM
I had my digital Rebel set on the Jpeg highest resolution setting of 6.2. I double checked it several times.

I've never set any of cameras to the RAW mode.

Hairsonmychest
03-05-2005, 09:19 PM
thank you for your replies.

i'm using a IBM micro drive... does that make a difference? i dont see how it would but i'm still only getting 2.3 megs at most at the highest setting withour RAW... i'm thinking my 20D is defective.

ReF
03-06-2005, 12:06 AM
I have a San Disk Ultra II 1 gig card.

I had a Digital Rebel. I could put about 165 pics on it at the highest resolution whick was 6.2, I think.

Now I have a Canon 20D. I still have the same 1 gig card. Now, I can put 240 pics at the 8.2 resolution on it.

Doesn't make sense to me. I would have figured that it would hold fewer pics not more.

i remember in Jeff's review of the d-rebel, he mentioned that the files from the rebel were much larger than from the 10D. there might be some mention of the 20D's file size on dpreview.com's review of this camera. or maybe another owner the 20D from this site can tell you what size their files are.

D70FAN
03-06-2005, 09:40 AM
i remember in Jeff's review of the d-rebel, he mentioned that the files from the rebel were much larger than from the 10D. there might be some mention of the 20D's file size on dpreview.com's review of this camera. or maybe another owner the 20D from this site can tell you what size their files are.

For reference here is what was printed in the 300D (DReb) review:

RAW + JPEG
3072 x 2048
RAW + Medium/Fine 7.0 MB

JPEG

Large 3072 x 2048
Fine 3.1 MB
Normal 1.8 MB

Medium2048 x 1360
Fine 1.8 MB
Normal 1.2 MB

Small
1536 x 1024
Fine 1.4 MB
Normal 900 KB

timmciglobal
03-06-2005, 04:47 PM
Alot of it has to do with subject and possibility of compression. Try taking a shot @ ISO 3200 and see how you fit far less then ISO 100.

Tim

Hairsonmychest
03-06-2005, 10:46 PM
thank you very much for all ur posts. when i bump my ISO to 3200, then the mega bytes go up to 3.9. i was shooting at ISO 100. could that be it? does everybody shoot at ISO 400? or 400ish?

timmciglobal
03-06-2005, 11:43 PM
If I can I shoot at 100, its the smoothest best image quality. If I need "speed" I usually have to go all the way to 1600.

Tim

D70FAN
03-07-2005, 05:20 AM
If I can I shoot at 100, its the smoothest best image quality. If I need "speed" I usually have to go all the way to 1600.

Tim

Learn to use the dark side (of the force? uh, no.). The -EV setting can be your friend when you need an extra stop, or two, but don't want to up the ISO. Under exposure can be easier to correct than noise. Give it a try.

ReF
03-12-2005, 02:51 AM
thank you very much for all ur posts. when i bump my ISO to 3200, then the mega bytes go up to 3.9. i was shooting at ISO 100. could that be it? does everybody shoot at ISO 400? or 400ish?

400 is my most used setting, but only when i HAVE TO use it. i try to get away with as low an ISO setting as possible whenever i can.

gary_hendricks
03-12-2005, 07:17 AM
i recently bought a 20D with a 50mm f/1.4 lens. i love it.
the weird thing is with a gig card, the camera tells me i can take 279 picutres but when i max out my CF card, i have more than 400 pictures with the biggest picture quality setting without going RAW format. how is this so? (each of my pictures are only 2.3 megs... is that right?)

That's odd - is there something wrong with the memory interface?