PDA

View Full Version : Coke Spill

DigicamMan
08-16-2004, 08:25 AM
Hi All

I have a problem and it needs fixing. My camera (an Olympus D-390) was inside a soft case inside a backpack and a coke bottle spilled inside the backpack, subjecting the camera to severe damage from the inside. I have read that you can not open it up because of the shock, so I am at a blank. After drying the camera out, it will turn on, and the screen will be all white, with little wet splotches. It makes a beeping noise now, but nothing else. What should I do?? :confused: :confused:

Please Help

PixChick
08-16-2004, 08:17 PM
Well, I am not an expert, but it seems that you have few options. I would guess you could call the company and find out if there is any way to have it fixed (most likely at a cost to you) or take it to a camera shop and ask them the same. There is always the obvious and unfortunate option of having to buy a new camera. Unless someone knows how to fix it for a minimal cost, you may have no choice. I wish I could be more optimistic for you :(

PixChick :)

kgosden
08-16-2004, 09:32 PM
I cannot think of too many things worse to get inside your camera than soda. It sounds like it would take at least a complete disassembly and cleaning. But odds are that the soda has contaminated the CCD or lens. Considering that the D-390 is a dated 2MP camera with no optical zoom it is not likely to be worth the minimum $100-150 it would cost just to crack it open. For $150 you could replace it with a newer Olympus or Fuji (either one will use your xD cards) and probably get 3MP and an optical zoom.

gb_in_ga
02-07-2005, 10:15 AM
I'll second what kgodsen says.