PDA

View Full Version : Blurred Action Photos

Mr. Peabody
02-28-2005, 07:19 PM
Here's my equipment.

I have a Canon EOS 20D EO with what you would call by industry standards a cheap Canon EF75-300mm f/4-5.6 USM zoom lens.

I can take excellent outdoor baseball and football action daytime photos.

My problem is when I try to shoot nighttime football action and indoor basketball action photos. The subjects and action turns out very blurry.

Solution?

I've been told that I need to get an external flash like the Canon Speedlite 580EX with a Batter grip and a f/2.8 lens. I'm told with these 3 items, my pics will turn out perfect and not blurry.

I'm willing to spend the money, but I want to know if the advice is correct. I don't want to waste my money.

As far as the f/2.8 lens goes. I can get a 75-200mm with or without Image Stabilization. Of course, the IS costs more. Will the IS work and is it worth the extra money.

Anyway, I'm new to all this. I want to find a place where I can take a class to learn the basics of photography and how to really use all the manual functions of my camera. Right now, I don't know how. I just wanted a really nice camera to take pics of kids doing sporting activities and such. Like I said, I can really take excellent daytime outdoor sports action photos. It's just that my nighttime and indoor action photos are blurry and lacking.

ktixx
02-28-2005, 07:45 PM
Here's my equipment.

I have a Canon EOS 20D EO with what you would call by industry standards a cheap Canon EF75-300mm f/4-5.6 USM zoom lens.

My problem is when I try to shoot nighttime football action and indoor basketball action photos. The subjects and action turns out very blurry.

Solution?

I've been told that I need to get an external flash like the Canon Speedlite 580EX with a Batter grip and a f/2.8 lens. I'm told with these 3 items, my pics will turn out perfect and not blurry.