PDA

View Full Version : Stylus Verve S not as stylish?

ProblemSolver
02-18-2005, 02:01 AM
From what I've read, the Stylus Verve S comes only in black. I thought Olympus' idea of style was to have multiple colors. And besides, 5 MP cameras don't deserve black (Unless there are colors to choose from) because only high MP cameras deserve the classy look of being (or at least looking like) a pro.

Digideb
02-18-2005, 09:31 AM
I feel that I'm a newbie in the digicam world although I've had over 40 yrs. experience casually taking snapshots. I've seen quite a few cameras, including many fancy ones my "nerdy" shutterbug uncle had yrs. ago.
This fascination with "stylish" cameras in colors seems quite silly to me, including the whole black vs. silver "fashion statement". Don't get me wrong, I'm into classic cars, tattoos & cool stuff that other people think is silly,also.
But, cameras always seemed like kinda expensive, serious little "toys" with metal parts, lens & were usually black & silver. The small black plastic ones (Instamatics) were for casual snap shots & when cameras came out in colors, they were for kids! Cameras in colors still look like cheap toys to me. :rolleyes:
For me, when digicams became more popular,the most recognizable ones were the sm. silver ones. Now that I'm more aware of digicams & have my 2nd one, I know that the expensive ones (SLRs) are usually black with many variations in between.
My new, little Oly C-60 is silver & it has 6MPs, (for those that like to brag about that) & I think it's beautiful!!! :D
I've been wondering if other casual observers have the same impression about these "styles" of cameras? On the practical side, it would certainly have to be the last thing to look for when buying a camera, right? ;)

gb_in_ga
02-18-2005, 09:13 PM
DigiDeb: