PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading to a D-SLR from Powershot

Oxygen
02-15-2005, 07:40 PM
Hey all - I have a PowerShot S45, and I have been using it for about two years. I have been getting into photography more and more as I am exploring the manual controls on that camera. However, I think I have hit a boundary with the camera because it is not really good for wide angle shots (it has a 7.1 - 21.3mm lens f2.8-4.9, 3x optical zoom) or low-light shots. This is not to say I expect that of the camera, but I think it may be time for an upgrade. People have been asking me to take shots that will be used in prints. That kind of amazes me since the S45 is a point and shoot. I know it is not all about equipment, but I believe my potential is being limited by my current equipment. So I did some searching and happened upon the Canon 20D. I was thinking of pairing it with the Sigma 18-125 DC lens (as it is so highly recommended over the kit lens) for now, since that would be about $1,600, and right at my limit. I know I could have gone with something like the G6, but I do not feel the need to spend $700 when I am probably going to moving to a D-SLR at some point anyway, so why not save the $700 for lenses and other fun stuff?

I am going to be using the camera for studio shots (kind of), but it will be more as a replacement for the S45 as my primary camera, so I will be using it for everything.

I wanted to know what you guys thought - am I jumping the gun in going for the 20D? Should I go for something like the D70 or the Digital Rebel? Money does not matter that much to me if it means I will get a better camera. I am comfortable with a sizable investment that will last a few years (4 or 5 or even more) instead of a camera that I will feel the need to replace in the next generation. All thoughts and comments appreciated.

Thanks

Rex914
02-15-2005, 07:51 PM