PDA

View Full Version : Not Digital, But Watch Yourself on Craigslist


Mark_48
10-02-2009, 03:38 PM
I've been looking for a Hasselblad 501CM or 503CW and found 503CW kit w/ a CFE lens on Craigslist locally for $1500(US) which is a great price. I replied to the Craigslist ad and got back a sketchy way to contact the seller. The ad gave serial numbers of the body and lens and for whatever reason I did a Google search of the body serial number. I had 3 hits, one being the Craigslist ad, another was a very reputable ebay seller, and the last seemed to be a search engine of some kind to locate specific cameras. This raised my suspicions enough to contact the legit ebay seller, who I recieved an email back from stating it was absolutely a scam and the kit on Craigslist was a copy of his ebay ad and the camera was in his warehouse.
Not sure how prevalent this sort of scam is, but I thought I'd give a headsup as a caution to all.

This is the Craigslist ad (Southeast Massachusetts)....
http://southcoast.craigslist.org/pho/1373925537.html

Legit ebay sellers ad.... note the descriptions are identical....
http://cgi.ebay.es/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=380135961233

Rhys
10-02-2009, 10:21 PM
Lol. The real givaway: I had a Hassleblad as a gift but I already have one... Umm... new that was a $5,000 camera!

James DeRuvo DHQ
10-05-2009, 11:26 PM
I'd go on eBay. With eBay you have seller ratings, as well as recourse should the sale go south. But even on eBay you can get taken for a ride. Just remember the old addage - "Let the buyer beware."