PDA

View Full Version : Which camera?

joyful
09-01-2009, 12:27 PM
Hi! I am new to Canon and am looking into purchasing a new SLR. I currently have a nikon d40. I was looking on canon's site. What do you think the best camera is for the money( less is best!!)?? I don't need video.

I was looking at:

rebel Xti
rebel T1i
rebel xsi

Thanks!
Mindy

timmciglobal
09-01-2009, 12:28 PM
Question: If you have a nikon why switch?

In terms of not needing video the XSI if going to canon.

Tim

cdifoto
09-01-2009, 12:44 PM
Other than being a Nikon (jab jab :D), what don't you like about the D40?

joyful
09-01-2009, 01:02 PM
I'm still pretty new to photography......so it could just be me, But when I take outside pics I feel like they are overexposed. Inside I still have alot of red eye.

cdifoto
09-01-2009, 01:07 PM
Neither of those problems are specific to Nikon and neither would be solved by switching to Canon. You just need to get a handle on exposure for the first issue and buy & learn to use a hot shoe flash with bounce and swivel capability for the second issue.

There are a ton of books on exposure but Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson seems to be the most popular.

Flossmoor40D
09-01-2009, 01:22 PM
Sounds to me like no need to switch cameras. Read up on some exposure basics and/or take a beginner DSLR class via a local camera store or community college. I have a friend with the same camera that you use and she gets lots of great photos with it.