PDA

View Full Version : which point and shoot produces the best depth of field effect?

beach
05-23-2009, 10:30 AM
to all experts (which is all of you since i am a complete novice),

i am looking to purchase a point and shoot camera. however, almost all my friends have dslrs that produce a great depth of field effect. i would like to do the same without carrying around an anvil tied around my neck.

please help. i thank you in advance.

cheers,
beach

speaklightly
05-23-2009, 12:01 PM
beach-

Tell us what you mean by that "great depth of field" effect? If it means the ability to isolate a single subject from the back ground, where the background is blurred, that is difficult for a digicam to do because the physical design of the small imagers used with small lenses in most digicams created a great depth of field where everything from the foreground to the back ground is in sharp focus.

Please take a look at the attached photo. In it the main subject is in sharp focus while the background is slightly blurred. I think that is the effect that you are looking for in your search.

Sarah Joyce

mattdm
05-23-2009, 05:18 PM
The Panasonic LX3 is probably your best bet, as it has a relatively large (but still tiny!) sensor, and a very fast f/2.0-f/2.8 lens. It's till going to be nothing like you can get from a larger-sensored camera, though.

mattdm
05-23-2009, 05:53 PM
Also, the rumor (http://www.echenique.com/index.php/2009/05/15/more-olympus-micro-43-rumors/) is that Olympus is going to announce their micro four-thirds cameras in a few weeks. Unlike Panasonic's G1, their earlier mock-ups are styled more like compact cameras (rather than mini dSLRs).

The 4/3rds format sensor is 18mm 13.5mm, large enough to get a decently-shallow depth of field. (Here's a random example (http://www.flickr.com/photos/tomdauben/3557246224/in/pool-fourthirdssystem) I found in 30 seconds of looking on Flickr.)