PDA

View Full Version : capturing documents with camera

firststeps
05-15-2009, 07:51 AM
I am a novice at this and I work for a company that we use our digital cameras to take pictures of insurance cards and income statement and I am having a hard time doing both. Can you please give me some pointers on what I can do to make both of them more clear? I am using a Canon Powershot A530. Thank you!

firststeps
05-15-2009, 10:21 AM
I am a novice at this and I work for a company that we use our digital cameras to take pictures of insurance cards and income statement and I am having a hard time doing both. Can you please give me some pointers on what I can do to make both of them more clear? I am using a Canon Powershot A530. Thank you! -- Ok so I read this again and it sounds like I am doing something illegal. I am not! I work for First Steps in Indiana and we have to do this instead of taking the insurance card and documents from families. Please help!

D Thompson
05-15-2009, 01:42 PM
What settings are you currently using?

David Metsky
05-15-2009, 02:13 PM
You'll want a tripod (or a document stand) and good lighting. Where are you taking the photos now? How are the documents displayed?

AdamW
05-15-2009, 04:31 PM
Is there a reason you aren't using a scanner? This is what they're designed for....

tim11
05-16-2009, 04:31 PM
.... Can you please give me some pointers on what I can do to make both of them more clear?....
As others said.... placing the document securely on a flat surface and put the camera on a tripod. Or simply use a scanner. Scanner takes a little longer but it will give you the best result.

firststeps
05-19-2009, 06:33 AM
We are in homes of families and are unable to take a scanner with us or tripods. We try to get to the best light but it is not always possible. I have tried every setting on my camera just to see which one works best and I have not found on that does work. Suggestions???

firststeps
05-19-2009, 06:34 AM