PDA

View Full Version : Popup alert


Rhys
05-12-2009, 06:41 AM
I was on the forum view page and I had a little circular blue and green survey popup. I thought you didn't do popups?

Rhys
05-13-2009, 04:32 AM
I had the same thing again today. Yours was the only site open too.

Bonzo
05-13-2009, 04:51 AM
I have visited the site a few times since you posted this Rhys and I have not had a popup.
I have tried it in IE and Firefox.

Rhys
05-13-2009, 07:47 AM
Wacky - I get it on my Mac with Firefox.

I can't get it on this PC because all adverts are blocked through the hosts file.

AdamW
05-13-2009, 10:41 AM
Nothing on my Mac with Safari or Firefox. Strange....

David Metsky
05-13-2009, 10:54 AM
I saw one this morning - PC w/ Firefox.

Jeff Keller
05-13-2009, 04:01 PM
Can you take a screenshot of it?

jcon
05-13-2009, 05:30 PM
I had it earlier this evening too. If I get it again, ill SS it.

jcon
05-14-2009, 02:04 PM
I just got it again, it was only visible for 5 seconds, so getting a shot of it wasnt possible.

*ADDED*

Ok, so I found the advertisement(i think) on the main page. This one isnt the pop up that myself and others have gotten, but I believe its from the same "company" as its the same colors and its the same survey. The pop up is a cricle, though. Here is a SS of the ad on your main page... cropped to show the ad more clearly, if you want the full SS let me know..

Rhys
05-14-2009, 03:41 PM
Yes. Mine was circular but looked just like that. It was a popup that seemed to vanish after a few seconds.

K1W1
05-14-2009, 03:55 PM
If you use Firefox download the AdBlock Plus plug in.

No pop ups - ever!

David Metsky
05-16-2009, 06:58 AM
Here it is:

http://www.hikethewhites.com/dcrp/dcrp.JPG

Rhys
05-16-2009, 06:20 PM
That's the one! I thought it was blue and green on my Mac though.

mattdm
05-17-2009, 01:51 AM
Googling for safecount.net brings up a lot of complaints on various sites. Here's a particularly interesting one:

http://www.legendarygamers.net/index.php?name=News&file=article&sid=1326

Rhys
05-17-2009, 08:59 AM
Ahh... QuestionMarket.com. That's blocked in my hosts file on the Windows box. I added it to the list on my Mac and it's now blocked there too :D

Jeff Keller
05-17-2009, 11:54 PM
Okay, I think I know what that is. As part of Canon's ad campaign they're also doing a survey. I wasn't sure exactly how they were going to end up doing it, but that's it. Believe it or not, if you didn't allow them to do the survey, you didn't get the campaign! Sorry about that, guys.

jcon
05-18-2009, 12:48 AM
Figures... Canon...:D:p