PDA

View Full Version : Down to three, sony DSC W1, Canon S410, or the diamge/mimolta G400...Please help

KOT
08-09-2004, 09:04 PM
I am getting close, approaching camera hunt burn-out. However I am still unable to make a final decision on one of three cameras. The sony DSC W1, Canon S410, or the diamge/mimolta G400...Please help. I am a camera novice but am willing to learn and grow if this will will result in better pictures. Basically I want a compact camera to take family photos indoors and out and during probable low light on occasion. I also travel on vacations to outdoor locations like alaska and montana to camp.. Which of the three cameras above is best? or is there something else that I need to consider??

Thanks,

eastbluffs
08-09-2004, 10:35 PM
I just spent 2 solid days in the same burn-out. It finally came down to Sony W1, Canon S60 (new), and Fuji E550 or Fuji 700. I'm very novice too so keep that in mind when reading. This is a product of about 20 hours of research and a few visits to the local photo shop.

I untimately purchased the Canon S60. I think you should check it out.

The more I read about Fuji's, the easier to remove from the list. However I did like the big separation of flash on the Fuji 700 so no red-eye, it has very low shutter-lag (critical to good family photography in my opinion), and the 700 has an AF Illuminator to help in low-light stuff. However a shoot-out on another sight showed poor performance in shadowed detail and the new Super CCD still had more noise than other cameras in extreme conditions.