View Full Version : Sony DSLR-A200K for as $217 when you get and use your Sony Card
The Dread Pirate Roberts
03-19-2009, 10:33 AM
I want to be up front. This is a credit card offer from Sony. But it is a fantastic deal. This is a pretty good Sony Card offer. Get a new Sony Card and you qualify to get the DSLR-A200K digital camera kit for $217. It's MSRP is $499! That's $289 off of list price or a 57% savings. The Kit includes the DT 18-70mm f3.5-5.6 Standard Zoom Lens. Every user review I've read on this camera + kit gives it 4 - 5 stars (out of 5).
You will have to purchase it on the Sony Rewards site and use your Sony Card but who cares for that price. Once you get approved for the card you will have to go back to the offer page (link below) to get the $317 deal on Sony Rewards by clicking on the Redeem Now button. Once you place the order, you will get $100 instant credit if you buy it with your Sony Card. The link below is the offer page where you can sign up for the card and purchase the camera. You must go back to the offer page and click the redeem now once you've been approved. If you just enter through SonyRewards main site, they will charge a higher price.
http://www.sonyphile.com/go.aspx?url=http://www.sonyrewards.com/gateway/?offerlink=gsslr317
Dread Pirate Roberts
03-20-2009, 10:11 PM
WTF, someone set up a username similar to mine or is this spam? Either way not happy Jan!
Jeff Keller
03-22-2009, 05:38 PM
Don't think it's spam, but the OP should change his or her username...
The Dread Pirate Roberts
03-23-2009, 12:38 PM
WTF, someone set up a username similar to mine or is this spam? Either way not happy Jan!
Not sure what you define as SPAM. This is a great deal on a camera, which I posted here to share with everyone. I use this login or one very similar depending on availability on all the web sites I have to register at. If users had to choose something completely dissimilar to every existing user name, no one would ever be able to sign up anywhere. It just so happens that the Princess Bride happens to be one of my favorite movies. Sorry you aren't happy that another user has chosen a name similar to the one you choose. If the mod tells me I have to change it I will, but otherwise, I'm sticking with it. Sorry if that makes you unhappy but I expect in the overall scheme of things, it's not really a big deal.
Phil Tompson
03-23-2009, 08:00 PM
So you have to signup for a credit card to get the $ off... doesn't seem like such a great deal to me.
Dread Pirate Roberts
03-24-2009, 03:38 AM
I don't object to people having similar usernames per se...
But..
When the only 2 posts they put up read like blatant adverts and the username is darn similar to mine I'm not happy that it looks like I'm endorsing a product. Thats the rub.
Feel free to post constructive photography stuff on this wonderfull website all you like.
The Dread Pirate Roberts
03-24-2009, 11:21 AM
So you have to signup for a credit card to get the $ off... doesn't seem like such a great deal to me.
How is signing up for a credit card not make it a great deal? It's a no annual fee card. It doesn't cost you anything to sign up for it. They sell you a camera for $317, which normally sells for significantly more, and give you a $100 card credit if you purchase the camera with your new card. This particular camera has a lot of positive reviews. You can always apply the card credit towards payment, so if the timing is right, then you end up only paying $217 for the camera which is a tremendous bargain. Otherwise, you can buy $100 of other stuff that you normally buy and basically have no payment due. Unless you deal strictly in cash, this is a good deal. It even has zero pct interest for 12 months. Finally, if you spend $500/mo for 6 months, and I put everything on my credit card so that's easy for me, you get an additional $200 in card credits. So for buying all the stuff I normally do, I can effectively get the camera for $17.
So, explain to me again how this is not a good deal?
The Dread Pirate Roberts
03-24-2009, 11:28 AM
I don't object to people having similar usernames per se...
But..
When the only 2 posts they put up read like blatant adverts and the username is darn similar to mine I'm not happy that it looks like I'm endorsing a product. Thats the rub.
Feel free to post constructive photography stuff on this wonderfull website all you like.
This is the "hot deals" forum is it not? Wouldn't this be the place you would expect to find this type of post?
I'm not interested in the slightest whether anyone else thinks you are endorsing this nor not. Our usernames are not the same. I didn't scour this site looking for usernames who post a lot and then try to poach a similar name. I found a good deal and tried to share it. End of story. If I'm in violation of TOS of this site, then the mod can let me know and that will be that. Otherwise, I will use this site as I see fit so long as it is in accordance with the TOS, regardless of your personal feelings about the situation. I will have no further correspondence with you regarding this matter.
GoneTomorrow
03-24-2009, 11:37 AM
This is the "hot deals" forum is it not? Wouldn't this be the place you would expect to find this type of post?
You have to understand this from our viewpoint. There are a lot of "fly by spammers" who register, post an advertisement, then are gone. Classic spam routine. It would be different perhaps if you were a regular poster around here, who would be trusted to post such a deal (some forums even have minimum post requirements). If you were on various other forums on a regular basis, you would realize this as it's fairly common practice for spammers.
WTF, someone set up a username similar to mine or is this spam? Either way not happy Jan!
LOL, I actually thought it was you at first DPR. Sorry!
If the mod tells me I have to change it I will, but otherwise, I'm sticking with it.
You have been told by the owner of the site.
but the OP should change his or her username
The Dread Pirate Roberts
04-07-2009, 12:41 PM
You have been told by the owner of the site.
Which doesn't do any good since the forum software doesn't appear to allow you to change user names. If this is such a problem, I would suggest implementing an algorithm which prevents similar names during the signup process.
The Dread Pirate Roberts
04-07-2009, 12:47 PM
You have to understand this from our viewpoint. There are a lot of "fly by spammers" who register, post an advertisement, then are gone. Classic spam routine. It would be different perhaps if you were a regular poster around here, who would be trusted to post such a deal (some forums even have minimum post requirements). If you were on various other forums on a regular basis, you would realize this as it's fairly common practice for spammers.
Actually, I spend a lot of time on forums. If I were a spammer, I would have posted the message repeatedly in every heavily commented thread to maximize visibility. I tried to follow the rules as I read them, posted to what I believed to be the relevant forum, etc.
While I understand your sentiment, it is completely misguided. This isn't an ad for viagra, or any other bs spam you typically see. I specifically stated that it was a credit card offer, at which you could receive a great price on a Sony SLR digital camera. This site is for digital cameras, and this is the hot deals forum. This seems perfectly legitimate to list this here, as opposed to say a PS3 forum, or a Blu-Ray forum, or a Mustang forum, etc etc.
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.