PDA

View Full Version : Camera for Work & Play

BrianO
03-19-2009, 08:15 AM
Budget $400 +/-
First, thank you for this great site... I've been lurking for a while and have learned a great deal... I am a true amateur and I have learned a lot by reading your posts.. so to the questionnaire:
Size Would prefer compact size
Features would like

10 x ++
Wide angle
reasonable macro
OIS

How important is “image quality” to you? (Rate using a scale of 1-10)
6 (would like good to very good P&S quality not expecting DSLR quality)
Do you care for manual controls? Do not use what I have now on Nikon Coolpix 5400
Will you be making big prints of your photos or not? typically 4x6 - 5X7.....occasionally 8x10 max based on past usage
Will you be shooting a lot of indoor photos or low light photos? yes 50-60%.... but a P&S has served me reasonably well in the past
Will you be shooting sports and/or action photos? NO

Miscellaneous Are there particular brands you like or hate? Not overly in love with my Nikon Coolpix 5400
Are there particular models you already have in mind? Canon SX200IS, Panasonic ZS3, & TZ5.... Also considering Canon SX10 /Nikon p90/Panasonic Ultrazooms but see below...

General Usage * What will you generally use the camera for?
I am a forensic structural engineer and I use a camera on every assignment documenting building damages to be included in written reports. My typical photos include things like overall room views to allow perspective (need wide) and then zoom in to detail of damages such as cracks in drywall/tiles (decent macro) or water staining.. I also regularly find myself climbing ladders, roofs to document exterior damages (longer zoom and smaller size will help here), or crawling on my belly under a building to document structural damages.