PDA

View Full Version : Nikon D80 + ML-L3 remote, can't get it to work



Tomboymama
02-26-2009, 12:10 PM
I recently upgraded to a D80 from a D40. I tried to use the wireless remote for the first time and I can not get it to fire at all. I have followed directions in the manual, but I must not have something set correctly. The remote works fine with the D40, so I know the remote is working. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I might look for as being the problem? Any help greatly appreciated.

Rooz
02-26-2009, 01:45 PM
I recently upgraded to a D80 from a D40. I tried to use the wireless remote for the first time and I can not get it to fire at all. I have followed directions in the manual, but I must not have something set correctly. The remote works fine with the D40, so I know the remote is working. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I might look for as being the problem? Any help greatly appreciated.

do you have the little remote icon appearing on the right hand corner of the top LCD ?

Tomboymama
02-26-2009, 02:03 PM
Yes, I have the remote icon on the top LCD. I changed the custom menu #30to 15 minutes, so the remote option does not reset too quickly. If I am understanding correctly, the remote sensor on the D80 is on the upper left just above the D80 logo. Pointing directly at it from various distances gets no response at all.

XaiLo
02-26-2009, 04:11 PM
Check the Battery?

Tomboymama
02-26-2009, 05:08 PM
It currently fires the D40 just fine, so I don't think it is the battery. I am going to get a new battery to try just in case, but it seems like if it were that low it wouldn't work with either camera. Thanks for the suggestions though. I am stumped.

Rooz
02-26-2009, 05:45 PM
make sure you have the remote icon only, not the self timer one aswell.

i would also switch it to manual focus and manual exposure and try and take the shot to rule out any issues you have with the camera not being able to attain focus or within MFD or anything else like that.

XaiLo
02-26-2009, 07:56 PM
Rough, if it's not the settings then the sensor may have an issue. It should fire both with no issues.

Tomboymama
02-27-2009, 07:18 PM
It looks like I just got a camera with a faulty sensor. Off it goes to the Nikon hospital. Thanks again for the suggestions. I was hoping I was just missing something somewhere.

Rooz
02-27-2009, 07:31 PM
did you buy it at a store ? go back there and ask for an immediate replacement. to do without your camera for 3 weeks cos of this small fault is annoying as hell.

K1W1
02-27-2009, 07:55 PM
Doesn't the D80 have front and rear sensors?

XaiLo
02-27-2009, 11:11 PM
I don't think so Kiwi.

Rooz
02-27-2009, 11:35 PM
just front

Tomboymama
03-03-2009, 12:48 PM
Unfortunately I bought it online as there are no stores close that sell DSLRs. I do still have my D40, so I won't be totally cameraless, but yes, it is very annoying and scary to send it off. I just hope it comes back better than before. It is under warranty thankfully, although I suppose I am out at least the one-way shipping. Thanks again for all of the suggestions. I love to lurk here and look at everyone's lovely photos!

Visual Reality
03-03-2009, 01:57 PM
just front
Yes, make sure you aren't trying to trigger it from behind...it won't get the signal...