PDA

View Full Version : Best settings 40D: Night high speed motocross

fluentdesigns
02-24-2009, 04:34 PM
Im fairly new to shooting photos in low light situations as most of the time I am shooting during the mid day at events. I recently had gone to an event that was outside with just flood lights around the track and I was unable to shoot anything worth using.

Here is the equipment that I have:

40D
70-200 f4
18-55 3.5-5.6 (i believe)
No Flash Yet (duh!)

So i'm currently looking into getting a flash and would like to spend around 200 I saw some deals on ebay for the 430ex not sure if that is good enough or over kill but that is what Im currently decided on getting, of course I can change if anyone has a suggestion.

All events I go to I have media pass to get out on the track so I can shoot up close to where im only 5 feet away if need be. Just wanted to see what settings I should use with a flash.

Any help would be great! Ill be shooting in the same situation in a few weeks and want to make sure I am ready this time!

adam75south
02-25-2009, 07:27 AM
are you shooting for fun or for money?

it's a tough call on the best route to take here, but if you go for a flash, see if you can get an off camera cord or some cheap wireless triggers so you can get creative with the light. you can get vivitar 285hv flashes for $90 new and they're just as powerful as the 430ex, you can get decent wireless triggers for around $35 as well. then you'll need a light stand or a superclamp to mount it somewhere. i've heard of people just holding their flash up with a monopod and an off camera cord..this one would be especially cool if you get up close with a wide angle like your 18mm.

Nickcanada
02-25-2009, 07:43 AM