PDA

View Full Version : New to monitor calibration question

swandy
08-09-2004, 08:33 AM
I have been using PS for several years (currently using PSCS). Just purchased a Monaco Optix bundle to do my calibrations and profiling.
Created a monitor calibration using the Optix. Video Card driver shows the ICC profile as the default. When in go into Control Panel (Windows XP Pro) and click on the Adobe Gamma icon the proper ICC profile that I created shows in the box BUT it shows the white point as 5000 K (warm white) while the profile was created for 6500 K (daylight). According to Monaco's website Photoshop uses this setting (shown in Adobe Gamma). Any ideas on why the change in white point? Thanks

jaykinghorn
08-09-2004, 11:46 AM
I have been using PS for several years (currently using PSCS). Just purchased a Monaco Optix bundle to do my calibrations and profiling.
Created a monitor calibration using the Optix. Video Card driver shows the ICC profile as the default. When in go into Control Panel (Windows XP Pro) and click on the Adobe Gamma icon the proper ICC profile that I created shows in the box BUT it shows the white point as 5000 K (warm white) while the profile was created for 6500 K (daylight). According to Monaco's website Photoshop uses this setting (shown in Adobe Gamma). Any ideas on why the change in white point? Thanks

My first step would be to throw away the Adobe gamma startup utility. On Windows it has a bad habit of interfering with external calibrations. After creating a profile, visit your Color Settings tab in Photoshop. Click on the RGB working space. Near the top of the list should be a setting for Monitor RGB. Is your profile listed there? If so, Photoshop will work correctly. If not, you need to set the new profile as the default in your Control Panels. That said, be sure you cancel out of the color settings dialog box, or manually choose your RGB working space. Setting your monitor profile as your RGB working space is a bad idea.