PDA

View Full Version : Oooops! I dropped it!! :(

BrazAd
01-25-2005, 08:27 PM
Gang,

I set my C-700 on the hood of a pickup truck while visiting a jobsite the other day (I'm an architect), and it slid off and nailed the asphalt, then rolled a couple of times after that. Ouch!

The camera has power, and will show pics I've already taken on the LCD screen. Everything is cool there.

BUT.... the lens doesn't extend out when you go to camera mode, and after 8 seconds or so the red light flashes real fast a few times, and the camera shuts down.

Advice time: Should I buy a new camera, and forget it? Send this one to be looked at? If so, where is the best place for service? (It's out of warranty, I'm pretty sure)

Thanks in advance,

Gary Collier
Atlanta

Rex914
01-25-2005, 09:05 PM
See how much you can get it repaired for. The whole deal with the lens not moving and the camera shutting down seems typical after a drop. Unfortunately, cameras are even more fragile than laptops when it comes to dropping.

If you're talking about this C-700, http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/olympus/c700-review/index.html, then you might want to look into getting a new camera instead since it'll undoubtedly be the cheaper option. If you want something very similar to the C-700, the C-765/770 series would be a good choice.

Thon
01-26-2005, 01:49 AM
I'd say, get a new camera.

If you still require an ultrazoom, the C770/765UZ are worth look at. The camera controls will be familiar to you. However, the Smartmedias have basically been replaced by xDs by now, but you might be able to sell them on ebay though.

Other notable ultrazooms are Panasonic FZ20/15/10/3, Konica Minolta Z1/2/3/5 and Canon S1 IS. These have image stabilization but are much larger than the 770/765. If size doesn't matter, the FZ20 will be the best replacement with its 12X f2.8 Leica lens with IS.