PDA

View Full Version : FZ Series Lens Hoods

Jalva22
01-25-2005, 07:20 AM
Can any of the FZ experts out there tell me how the shots compare with and without the lens hood. I'm buying soon in anticipation of our family's first trip to disneyworld in June. I'm sure the bright Florida sunshine can be a challenge. However, I have no intention of carting around this big old camera if I've got to use the hood to get a good shot outside. If that's the case, I will probably step back and just buy a Canon A95 and get the telephoto conversion lens. I'm a digicam newbie, and really don't know which way would be best for me to go. I appreciate any advice anyone can give!

genece
01-25-2005, 07:33 AM
You do not need to use a hood any more with a FZ camera than with a canon.
A hood is a good Idea but not necessary.
When they are talking about lens flair they are referring to adding a filter to the end of the adapter. Then the hood is a good Idea but not necessary.
But the FZ cameras work fine right out of the box ..No adapter or hood.
If size is a concern do not forget the FZ3 its a good camera and you will never notice its only 3 mp.

Jalva22
01-25-2005, 08:00 AM
Thanks! Is 3MP enough for 8x10's? The vast majority of my shots will be typical family vacation 4x6's and day-to-day 4x6's. But I do think I will be printing some 8x10's of the resorts and parks.

andyn
01-25-2005, 08:15 AM