PDA

View Full Version : "Chatter"...

Razr
12-08-2008, 02:32 PM
OK: why is my E510 "chattering" (inside) briefly when turned off, with or without a lens?

Though the event doesn't happen every time, what's going on?

S_p_i_d_e_r
12-08-2008, 05:15 PM
Sensor cleaning?

raven15
12-08-2008, 05:31 PM
No, sensor cleaning in Oly's only happens on startup. Maybe something to do with the IS turning off? I have heard that happens, though I'm not an expert obviously. Does it vary with the focal length of the last lens used or anything?

jekostas
12-08-2008, 10:16 PM
The noise you hear is the IS system being reset before it gets turned off. No worries, it's completely normal.

Phill D
12-08-2008, 10:21 PM
Interesting mine has done it once recently & I wondered what it was too. Strange it doesn't always do it?

kgosden
12-09-2008, 07:55 AM
If IS is turned off then it does not do the shutdown shake dance. It is actually buried in the manual someplace. Everyone has mentioned that Olympus should put a bold note up front or include a little sticker on the camera inner plastic packaging. I bet it is the number one support call.

GoneTomorrow
12-09-2008, 08:10 AM
That's funny, I would be freaked about it too.

Razr
12-09-2008, 04:13 PM
No, sensor cleaning in Oly's only happens on startup. Maybe something to do with the IS turning off? I have heard that happens, though I'm not an expert obviously. Does it vary with the focal length of the last lens used or anything?

Nope. It even happens if there is no lens mounted.

Razr
12-09-2008, 04:14 PM
Interesting mine has done it once recently & I wondered what it was too. Strange it doesn't always do it?

Yes, it truely is.

e_dawg
12-09-2008, 10:51 PM
It is the IS system re-centering itself for safe transport. Everyone asks this question on every Olympus forum on the Net whenever they first notice it. 99 times out of 100, that's what it is.

Phill D
12-10-2008, 12:42 AM