PDA

View Full Version : Elinchrom Skyport Torture Test



cdifoto
09-21-2008, 06:16 PM
I decided to test the limit of reliability with my Elinchrom Skyports tonight. I put two Vivitar 283s @ full power on a dual umbrella bracket, with a Photogenic Eclipse Silver Lined Umbrella as diffusion to spread the light over the subject (my storage shed - it was kind of a test of the umbrella's coverage as well).

The setup:
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a304/cdifoto/gear/2008-09-21-0014.jpg

Max distance for 100% reliability:
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a304/cdifoto/gear/2008-09-21-0016.jpg

Ignore the EXIF's focal length & aperture. These were shot with a manual focus lens, & the AF-confirm adapter reports 55mm f/1.4 for all shots. Actual focal length was 28mm (I know, I should have used 50mm due to perspective making it look farther than it is). It is and was pitch black when I tested so I have no idea how far out I actually was, but felt like 400 feet or so. I was also down a small embankment.

shoey
09-21-2008, 07:04 PM
That's not too bad!!!

I picked up some of these bad boys last week, and i'm loving them.

It's deffo as far as i'll ever need to go with mine.

Rooz
09-21-2008, 07:41 PM
am i right in saying that you still need to adjust strobe power via the strobe itself with the skyports ?

cdifoto
09-21-2008, 08:00 PM
Yes. Only the Skyport RL can be used to control certain Elinchrom strobes. There is no communication between the Vivitar 283s and the Skyports, other than the radio signal to fire.

achuang
09-22-2008, 05:01 AM
Thanks for the test cdi, I was going to buy a set this week. Looks very reliable.

adam75south
09-22-2008, 06:25 AM
that's one thing i still haven't tested on the cybersyncs. maybe i'll try that wednesday when i actually go home instead of staying at my gf's place. i live on a long street so it's perfect, i just hate it when neighbors are watching me wondering what the hell i'm doing.....or worse, if someone decided to pull up and grab my flash while i'm 400ft away.

GaryS
09-22-2008, 06:59 AM
This is an interesting idea. Now I have to go outside and light up the backyard with my strobes!

My wife is going to think I've lost it....

jayfixit
09-22-2008, 11:21 AM
What is the voltage on your 283's?

cdifoto
09-22-2008, 04:24 PM
that's one thing i still haven't tested on the cybersyncs. maybe i'll try that wednesday when i actually go home instead of staying at my gf's place. i live on a long street so it's perfect, i just hate it when neighbors are watching me wondering what the hell i'm doing.....or worse, if someone decided to pull up and grab my flash while i'm 400ft away.
I'm fortunate in that I'm pretty rural. I have neighbors but I and my flash were still on my own property for the test.

cdifoto
09-22-2008, 04:25 PM
What is the voltage on your 283's?
They vary but the ones I actually use are under 15 volts. I have one that fires at an insane 104 volts but it has a broken foot anyway so I just labeled it accordingly and laid it aside.

aparmley
09-23-2008, 05:00 PM
Did you have to mount the transmitter backwards in your shoemount?

cdifoto
09-23-2008, 05:17 PM
No, why? :confused:

aparmley
10-07-2008, 05:24 PM
Some people I know who shoot canon had to mount the skyports on backwards, otherwise they wouldn't fire the strobes?? IDK. . . weird.

cdifoto
10-07-2008, 08:37 PM
That's definitely weird.